Seething – LOTD #267

LOTD 267~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, so it’s been another while since I did a LOTD post.  I’m trying to get back into the swing of things and I put together a picture.  I uploaded it to Flickr, and then tried to embed it into my blog, as I have done since I got Flickr.

I usually make my LOTD photos private, that way they don’t show up on my Flickr feed until after the blog post has published.  Except now it doesn’t work that way.  -.-

Flickr has changed the rules without any notice once again.  Now in order to embed a photo I have to make it public.  Which is what I was doing, but AFTER my blog post published.  There are those of us who like to work ahead, and have our posts scheduled, rather than hitting ‘publish’ as soon as we are done.  There is something called a ‘guest pass’ that is supposed to let you have an embed code for a private photo, but I couldn’t get it to work correctly (or at least, it may work as Flickr intended, but it doesn’t work as I need it to).

So now, I have two choices – I can make my photos public in order to obtain the embed code so I can add them to my blog post, or I can find an alternative to Flickr. Well, three choices, I suppose – one other being that I could go back to just uploading my pics directly to WordPress.

I originally began adding the photos to Flickr and then embedding them in order to save space on my free WordPress account – you only get 3GB of storage with WordPress, which goes pretty quick when you are taking hi-res photos with large file sizes.

After scanning my way through the mind-numbing Flickr forum, it appears the change was triggered because the embed code they provided violated their own TOS.  (I’m still not clear on why.)

I’ll have to do a few more photos and see what option I think is the best for me.  I can upgrade my WP account to get more space – perhaps once I get closer to the limit, it might be worth it.  We shall see.

In the meantime, my photo turned out to be pretty prophetic – I was seething myself by the time I figured all of this out!!  Instead of 15-20 minutes, I spent several hours reading and searching.  Gah!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Details:

Hair:  EMO-tions – Fenia – Blonde (previously at We ❤ Roleplay)

Skin:  Glam Affair – Margo – India

Eyes:  IKON – Triumph – Electric

Eye Makeup: White Widow – Belle – Red

Shape: Laqroki – Glow (modified)

Body/Hands/Feet: Maitreya – Lara

Outfit:  Belle Epoque – Sabah – Red  (previously at We ❤ Roleplay)

Pose: oOo Studio – boo!ty pose (modified)

2 thoughts on “Seething – LOTD #267

  1. Crumbs, Flickr doesn’t make sense half the time – I use the WordPress upload, it’s so much better and it adjusts the size for you really well, I think, with no loss of detail. You’ve got the right idea about upgrading your WP account, Kat. Annnd…. Beautiful photograph!

    1. Thank you! I’m still not convinced about upgrading WP for more storage – I’m going to look into other options. I’ll keep Flickr for the community, but definitely need to find an alternative for blog pics! 🙂

Comments are closed.