Progress, Not Perfection

This phrase has become my mantra for 2016.

I’m not one for setting New Year’s resolutions, but I am trying to make some changes in my life.

Since childhood, I’ve been one of those people who wanted to do everything I did perfectly.

If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right, as my father would always say.

Trouble is, I began to believe that if I couldn’t do it right, I shouldn’t do it at all.  This line of thinking made it incredibly easy to procrastinate.

I can’t do it yet, I don’t know enough. 

I can’t do it yet, I’m not ready. 

I can’t do it yet, I might fail.

Sound familiar?

I am trying to focus on being less of a perfectionist and trying to train myself to see progress rather than imperfections.

I’ve been trying for the last year or so to improve my photography and Photoshop skills. I still have a long way to go, but I wondered if I’d made any actual progress.

So I went back to Flickr and looked at my very first LOTD post.

LOTD 1

It’s not terrible, but I can certainly see where I made some mistakes and how I could have done things differently. 🙂

My last LOTD post was this one:

LOTD 248 - Be Still

A lot different, to be sure. 🙂  Of course, I can still see mistakes and things I could have done differently, but I can definitely see progress and that makes me happy. 😀

One thought on “Progress, Not Perfection

Comments are closed.