Inventory Bloat

MessyBoxes
Image Source: cutelypoisoned.com

If you know me, you know that I hate having a bloated inventory.

I work pretty diligently to keep it around 30K items.

Once I get over that 30K mark, I will start sorting, boxing, and deleting.

Some things have sentimental value, like pics of friends that are no longer in SL, or items given to me by my loving husband.

I used to hate deleting things, which is crazy, because I am pretty ruthless when it comes to de-cluttering in RL.  If you don’t use it, out it goes – usually to a charity so that someone else can get use out of it.

A year or so ago, I quit boxing up extra sizes of mesh items.  I have no idea why I did this in the first place – I’m not going to suddenly change my avatar shape enough that I would need them. 😛

Now, when I buy something that comes with the standard sizes, I save the fitmesh (if there is one), I save two sizes (in case my boobs or butt poke through in one) and the rest get deleted.

I am guilty of saving fitmesh for bodies I don’t own, I confess.  I’ve considered buying either the Slink body or the Belleza one, so I hang on to those items ‘just in case.’ 😀

I don’t own much system clothing anymore, except for costumes for dancing.  Working out how to dance with a mesh body (which can be done) is sometimes tricky with layers, so I will often just opt for my system avatar when I dance.

I am currently sitting at around 35K in inventory, which is driving me bonkers.  I need to sort and box up some stuff, which I hope to get around to sometime next week.

A lot of the bloat has come from blogging events.  I know that many people think that bloggers only blog to get free stuff, but that’s far from true.  Some do, of course, but not the majority.

I blogged for some events because I genuinely like the events and designers, not because I wanted free stuff.  Free stuff was nice, of course, but not necessary for me.

I don’t generally buy fatpacks of anything (even shoes!).  Mostly because I’m cheap. 😛   But also because I try to pick colors that will provide a variety of options, the same as I do in RL.

I don’t own 14 colors of the same sweater in RL, and the same is true in SL.  So when I started blogging for a few events and I got fatpacks of everything, the inventory got overwhelming pretty quickly.

I understand why the designers do it that way – they have no idea what other items you’re going to blog, and giving you a variety of options means more chances that you’ll choose to include one of their items.

But I have no idea how fashion bloggers keep track of their massive inventories.  Hats off to them, because I couldn’t do it. 😀

These days, I buy what I like (an in & out shopper, that’s me!) and I delete what I don’t want or need.

I do wish there was some sort of ‘Goodwill’ in SL for transfer items.  I have plenty of quality items that I could get rid of, but no one to give them to.  😦

If I could just box them up and drop them off somewhere, so that someone would get some use out of them, that would be amazing!

Sure, I could sell them on MP, but that’s a lot of work for not much return.  I don’t need L$ for them, I just hate to delete them if someone else could use them.

Oh, I know it would never work.  Set up a ‘thrift shop,’ where people could drop items set for sale to $0L, restrict to avatars who are less than 30 days old.  But then people would just make new avis, get all the stuff for free, and then sell it on MP for a profit.

Do I sound cynical? 😛

I guess there’s nothing to do but start deleting.

*Dives into the pile of boxes and starts sorting*

6 thoughts on “Inventory Bloat

  1. If you had my inventory you’d never log on because you would be so stressed out by the size of it all. The problem is deleting inventory or boxing it up is soooo not interesting.

    I have never bought a fat pack of anything but I do need to be more diligent about deleting the extra mesh sizes and those skins and hair from 2009! LOL. I think all the invisiprim shoes are gone. Possibly, no probably!

    I like the idea of the SL Thrift Shop but as you say, someone would take advantage of the whole thing. But maybe that’s OK, you’d get rid of it and perhaps the person who sold your stuff would be doing it to support her shoe habit which otherwise she could not afford and keeping the SL economy alive and well.

    1. As I’ve said before, I’m an organization freak. 😛 If I could start an SL business organizing other people’s inventory, I would! I’ve boxed up tons of stuff, but I always seem to accumulate more!

  2. Actually the SL Thrift Store idea does exist and has for many years. Look for “Yard Sales” – they used to be pretty common, but these days it seems they have been mostly replaced by Gatcha places. It is basically a place you can set our transfer goods for any price (0 on up) that you deem fitting and fits within the rules of the venue.

    The SL Marketplace can be used the same way. Just drag that item into your merchant folder and make a listing for it – even if you sell it for free, that is your right. Since it is likely a no-copy/trans item, marketplace will limit it to one buyer anyway.
    (I’ve done this with old meeroo nests and gatcha items before).

Comments are closed.