Inventory Sorting Challenge

MessyBoxes
Image Source: cutelypoisoned.com

The other day I was moaning about how my inventory has ballooned to almost 38K items.  (I know, I know, that’s a drop in the bucket for some of you.) 😛

I try diligently to keep my inventory around the 30K range, so it’s starting to make me a bit twitchy that it’s getting so high.

I usually end up doing a marathon sorting/purging session, where I rez/wear items and then delete, box, or keep them.  Some things have sentimental value, some things I actually use, and some I box because I’m convinced I might need them someday. 😀

So, to make it a bit more fun, I’ve decided to combine my sorting/purging with blogging and photography.

The biggest folder in my inventory (besides shoes!) is my ‘building stuff’ folder.  This is where I stuff everything that I think I might use in a set for a routine.  Furniture, lights, landscaping items, vehicles, holiday decor – you name it, it’s probably in there.

It hasn’t been cleaned out in, well –  it has never been cleaned out.  😛

So I’m sure there are items that I can delete, or at the very least box up.  Some because they are just outdated, some because they aren’t copy/mod, and some because I have no idea why I kept them in the first place. 😛

The other day I came across an alphabet blogging challenge.  The challenge is to use only items in your posts/photos that all begin with the same letter.

I thought it would be fun to combine the alphabet challenge with my inventory sorting.  So, as I sort/purge, I will be trying to create scenes for a picture using items that all start with the same letter.

That should be easy, right?  😀

P.S. I started sorting Christmas stuff, because that seemed like a good place to start.  If I haven’t used it since last Christmas, I probably don’t need it, right?  I found a 21-prim snowman lurking in there.  He’s gone now – and his 21 prims!! 😀

