Region Decline

Image Source: www.flushdraw.net
Image Source: http://www.flushdraw.net

According to a recent post by Tyche Shepherd on SLU, the grid has now dropped below 25,000 regions for the first time since 2008.

There’s always lots of speculation about changes, declines, and their cause.

Many think that Project Sansar is having a negative effect on SL.

Perhaps.

I know people who are divesting themselves of land holdings.

Some because Linux is no longer being supported and know they will eventually lose access to SL.

Some because RL financial situations have made it difficult/impossible to afford the tier payments.

There are always those who will insist the sky is falling.

I actually happen to hold more land now than I ever did before.

(Which is to say, I currently have land, when I never did previously.) 😛

It will be interesting to see what happens as we head into 2016 and once Project Sansar is actually launched.

3 thoughts on “Region Decline

  1. I think land cost would be more of a factor than sansar. I know personally with the Aud being so low I simply can’t spare the money for land anymore. It’s a shame because so many gorgeous sims seem to be closing lately.

    1. It is a shame. Of course the RL economy has an effect on the SL economy. It’s also possible with the holidays approaching that people are paying more attention to their spending. It’s hard to tell, but it will be interesting to see what happens in the next few months. 🙂

  2. I have no doubt that is RL economy that is making Sl slow down and not Sansar that i predict will be a major flop.
    And the bad decision from Linden Lab to give all sorts of excuses to not reduce tier.

Comments are closed.