The Flickr Fave ★ | The Bergdorf Reports

FlickrCameraThe article linked below is a post from Kate Bergdorf with some funny categorizations of people on Flickr.

I had never heard of Flickr until about a year ago.

When I started doing my LOTD posts, I thought it would be a good place to share some of my photos.

I initially resisted because I don’t like Yahoo, but finally caved and got an account.

I really enjoy looking through photos and seeing other people’s creativity.

However, the site is not really user-friendly.

When you follow individual people, you can view their latest works by going to your ‘People’ tab.

So I can go to that tab and see the latest pictures posted by people I follow.

Great!

There are also a ton of Flickr groups that you can join, both so that you can share your own pics and see the pics of others around certain topics or themes.

I am in several SL dance groups, and several landscape groups.

But there is no ‘group’ tab/feed so that I can easily see the latest posts from the groups I am in.

Supposedly you can create an RSS for groups, but I’ve tried doing that, and it doesn’t work.

So the only way to view items from a particular group is to visit each group individually to look at photos.

If you’re not familiar with Flickr, this makes the process longer – instead of one click (as I would to view the latest ‘people’ posts), I have to go to my groups, wait for them load (which seems to take a while), pick one, wait for it to load, and then click on the ‘photo pool’ button for that group.

Instead of opening Flickr, clicking once, and scrolling through loads of cool photos, I often get stuck waiting for stuff to load.

First world problems, I know, that it takes 3 or 4 clicks instead of one, but if the goal of the site is to make it easy to share photos, they’ve missed the target in this area.

In addition, I don’t understand how the number of views are counted on photos.

When I am looking at recent photos, when I scroll down, my stream seems to constantly refresh itself – it’s not adding any new photos to the list, just constantly refreshing.

Are my involuntary refreshes being counted as multiple views?

Sometimes that is the only explanation I have for how some photos have thousands of views and hundreds of likes, when other (in my opinion, better) photos don’t.

I only ‘fave’ photos I actually like.

Perhaps I’m in the minority?

Source: The Flickr Fave ★ | The Bergdorf Reports

