Misfit Dance Show

On Friday I had a chance to attend a show by the Misfit Dance troupe.

I hadn’t been to one of their shows before so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

I was a bit confused at first, because there was an opening dance to “Uptown Funk,” but it was a shortened version of the song.

As another song started to play, I thought the dancers would return to the stage, but it was a filler song.

Second life dancerWhen the dancers took the stage again, I was ready and starting taking pics.

Many of the routines were to mixes/medleys of two songs, so I lost track of what songs were used, though I noted them where I could.

The second act was to an Ed Sheeran song I’d not heard before, called “Give Me Love.”

I liked this routine, because I am partial to acts that tell a story, even if it’s a sad one.

Next up was a mix that included the “National Lampoon’s Vacation” theme song.

I was having a bit of trouble with things rezzing in, so it took a bit for the car and some of the particles to appear fully for me.

Second life dancer 50'sI liked the moving textures that made it appear the car was driving down the road.

And, of course, I loved the costumes, because I’m a sucker for poodle skirts and saddle shoes. 😀

I recently bought a new mouse, so I’m not sure if it was my mouse settings that were wonky or not, but it seemed that the size of the stage was a bit different for each act.

I kept having to zoom out and in to get set for pics, though again, it could have been my mouse.

Second Life belly dancers with elephantAfter the road trip, the next act was an Arabian Nights set but the song was “Jai Ho,” which made for an interesting combination.

The highlight of the act for me was the dancing elephant.

It moved so smoothly and looked so lifelike that I just had to go searching for it.

If you’re looking for a cool elephant to use in a set, you can find it here:  Avatar Elephant – Mesh.

It walks, the ears moves – and it’s so realistic, it was amazing. 🙂

Second life pirates and orcaThe set for the next act was a neat idea – a ship in a bottle.

And dancing alongside the pirate wenches was an orca.

It was fun to watch it splashing through the waves and spraying the audience by slapping its fluke.

It was even more amazing when it disappeared and then reappeared wearing a bowtie, top hat, and cane!

Again, the avatar was just so cool that I had to find it.

It comes in several different sizes, depending on what you need, but it was so cute. 😛

You can find the orca avatar here – Mesh Avatar Orca.

Second life dancers butterfliesThe last act of the show was a repeat performance of the dance Jenzza created for a RFL event.

Called ‘Butterfly Strong,’ it was about the strength and resilience we all have in inside of us.

The fantasy set was very well done.

After the last act there was an audience participation dance, but I didn’t have time to stay.

I’m not sure if they will be doing regularly scheduled shows or not, so if you’re interested, join the Misfit group to get the latest updates.

One thought on “Misfit Dance Show

Comments are closed.