Love, Henry?

Love Henry 1A few days ago I had the chance to visit LEA8, the “Love, Henry” installation by Tahita Rae.

My initial interest was because I have long been fascinated by Henry VIII and his multiple wives.

So much so that I used to teach a whole unit on Henry and his wives in my British Literature class. 😀

There’s just so much surrounding Henry VIII – death, divorce, adultery, intrigue, romance, royalty – you name it, it’s in there.

I’ve always had a soft spot for Anne Boleyn – probably because her daughter, Elizabeth I, is also an interest of mine.

When you explore the sim (and you absolutely must – it is jaw-droppingly gorgeous!), the main castle has some interactive displays and information on the love affair between Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn.

Love Henry 2One of the most interesting things was the purported letter written (or more probably dictated) by Anne to Henry VIII while she was imprisoned in the Tower of London.

The provenance of the letter is disputed by historians, so we’re left to wonder whether it was truly written/dictated by Anne, or whether it is a fabrication of some sort.

(I happen to have a family member who has a degree in medieval history, so I will certainly be bending their ear about it!)

It’s an interesting question – whether Anne truly committed adultery (I don’t think so) and whether Henry was duped by Anne’s enemies, or whether Henry himself was behind it.

And whether Henry, at the end of his own life, regretted having Anne beheaded.

Love Henry 6While the history is certainly thought-provoking, it pales in comparison to the beauty of the sim itself.

I had a wonderful time exploring the grounds.

There are lots of hidden nooks and crannies to explore, along with some amazing buildings and architecture.

I thoroughly enjoyed playing around with windlights and angles and I think I got some nice shots.

It’s an interesting subject, and an even more interesting sim.

Happy exploring!

One thought on “Love, Henry?

Comments are closed.