Finding Joy

Joy

Whenever I’m feeling the blahs, I try to get back in sync with the universe.

I do that lots of different ways, but doing something creative is one I particularly like.

This picture is a departure for me, in that I only had two goals:  use the ballet legwarmers from Reign, and have fun. 🙂

Reign is having a picture contest using their Collabor88 item, which is the legwarmers.

I debated for a while, but finally settled on the black, because I thought I would get the most use out of them.

In fact, I have spent hours scouring SL and Marketplace looking for something just like these, so I was ecstatic to see them.

Earlier this month, while shopping the Mix event, I picked up this cute little projector from Keke.

I knew I wanted to somehow show movement in the photo (like the leaping girls in the projector image), and of course I have a ton of ballet dances.

However, after several failed attempts, I just wasn’t getting what I wanted.

Then I remembered that I could change it so my animations would be in slow-motion.

Once I did that, I was able to capture the moment I wanted – that moment mid-leap, the explosion of energy, of joy.

I added the tree branches and text in Photoshop.

I realized after taking the photo that I had failed to bump up my resolution, so the final product is grainier than I would like.

However, I’m pretty happy with the way this turned out – I even actually submitted it for the Reign contest, though I know I won’t win.

But I had fun making it, and that’s all that matters. 😀

