Nostalgia at Electrobit City

I Love Games
Image Source: http://www.gamerboat.com

I love games.

My closet is stuffed full of board games, card games, dice games, strategy games – you name it, I’ve probably played it.

I love puzzle games the most – having to figure out what to do or where to go next.

Probably why I love puzzle hunts in SL – using area search is too easy.

I want to have to work for it.

When I was a kid, my favorite game was ‘Electronic Detective.’

I played it for hours on end.

I like video games, but I suck at shooter-type games.

By the time I’ve figured out what is going on and where I need to go, I’m dead.

My children, of course, find this hilarious.

(I just remind them that I own all the top scores in ‘Just Dance.’ 😛 )

When I saw Caitlin Tobias’ post about Electrobit City, I wanted to go check it out for myself.

ElectrobitCityInvadersI was never good at Super Mario, but I enjoyed playing.

So I teleported over and snooped around.

It asks you for permission to use experience tools, which I gave.

However, a lot of the region is still under development, so not everything works.

I did have a lot of fun exploring.

I love the invaders hovering over the landing area.

Looking at some of these places brings back so many memories .

Hours spent hunched in front of the console, trying to beat my brother’s high score.

I wandered around the area until I found a teleport pad and stepped on it.

ElectrobitCityScaleYou fall out of a pipe and land near an NPC character.

He gives you a bit of background on the story and sends you on your way.

It’s a really cute area, with huge trees and little blocks you can jump up and hit.

Just to give you an idea of the scale, I’m in this photo.  😀

As I was exploring, I ended up in another area filled with giant mushroom trees and doors.

There didn’t seem to be anywhere to go from there, so I went back to the previous area.

I started climbing and ran into what I thought was another NPC.

Except I ended up ‘dead’ and had to start all over.  -.-

ElectrobitCity1So, back at the landing area, I found a little tunnel and followed it down into a club area.

It had a dance floor, a disco ball, and laser lights.

It also had some arcade games scattered around the perimeter, along with a few cute characters.

Like these guys. 🙂

ElectrobitCity2And this one.

He looks a little tired – overworked, maybe?

It was a lot of fun just wandering around and looking everything.

It brought back so many memories of my childhood, sitting around playing video games with my siblings and my dad.

ElectrobitCityCastleAreaAfter I made it back to the first game area, I took a good look around to see if I could figure out what to do next.

From a distance, I could see where I needed to go/jump to get to the castle up high (which I’d missed when looking around the first time).

Fly is disabled, so I managed to jump my way up to the waterfall area.

Where I died.

Again.

Well, at least I know what direction to head next time. :/

Once the whole game/area is up and running, it looks like it will be a lot of fun.

So if you’re feeling a bit nostalgic, head on over to Electrobit City.

Just be careful where you step!

One thought on “Nostalgia at Electrobit City

Comments are closed.