Top 5 Animation Stores

QuickPoll
Image Source: http://www.jr7.k12.mo.us

A week or so ago I asked readers to vote for their favorite animation store.

As a dancer, I think I’ve shopped at pretty much every animation store in SL. 😀

I collect poses, because you never know which one will be the perfect one to use in a routine, and AO stores can be a treasure trove for transition animations.

I try to keep a (somewhat) updated spreadsheet of some of the dance/pose stores I frequent here.

The spreadsheet has the more current information, because many of the store blogs are not updated frequently.

Poses and AO’s aside, I wanted to stick with dance animation stores.

I have my own personal favorites, of course, but I wanted to see what stores others liked.

Results

There was a 3-way tie for 3, 4, and 5.

Akeyo, Henmations, and Humanoid all tied with 9% of the votes.

I actually thought Humanoid would score higher, because their animations are very popular with club dancers.

Akeyo is more of an AO store, but they do have a nice selection of dance animations.

(Side note: If you are going to purchase animations, I highly suggest buying copy versions.  All too often SL will ‘eat’ inventory and then you are just out of luck – and $L.)

Henmations used to be one of my favorite stores, but it has been quite some time since they put out new dances.

However, they do have a bulk discount, so if you use their ‘shopping cart’ HUD, you can get a discount on your purchase, depending on how much you spend.

Coming in at #2 (18%) was perennial favorite A&M Mocap.

A&M has long had some of the best mocap dance animations in SL.

They have a huge selection of various styles of dance, including couples dances and chair/pole dances.

A&M also puts out ‘fad’ dances, like the Cupid Shuffle, Gangnam Style, and the like.

They do put out new dances, but not nearly as often as I want.

Also, dances at A&M are a bit pricier than other dance stores – a copy version of a dance generally runs around $400L.

The #1 dance animation store, with 54% of the votes, was . . .

Abranimations!

Personally, I love Abranimations.

They have a pretty large selection of dances, and they are very reasonably priced.

Single copy dances at Abranimations generally cost around $150L.

They are also one of the only dance stores to put out new content on a fairly regular basis.

One of the other nice things at Abranimations is that when you buy dances in packs, you receive ‘mirrored’ versions of the dances.

These are very nice to use when doing a routine where you have multiple dancers.

If you are looking for inexpensive dances, Abranimations offers a ‘Daily Dance Special’ where one of the dances in the store is available for a day at only $45L.

A pretty good deal if you’re short on L$!

Observations

I wasn’t really surprised that Abranimations  was the #1 choice – they are inexpensive, good quality, and fairly regularly put out new stuff.

That said, I have to wonder what’s going on with dance makers.

As I said above, I keep a spreadsheet of animation stores that I try to keep updated, both for my own benefit and yours. 😀

After spending a couple of hours tp’ing around SL a few days ago, I found that none of the dance makers have put out any new dances.

It’s been months since Abranimations or A&M put out anything, and more like years since there has been anything new from places like Sine Wave or Animazoo.

What gives?

Have we finally hit the wall for new dance animations?

Are dance makers waiting to see what happens with Project Sansar?

Or am I just missing out on new stores/dances?

One thought on “Top 5 Animation Stores

  1. Great research and insights, Kat! Thank you so much… wonderful topic!!!

Comments are closed.