Tips To Help Grow Your Blog

GrowYourBlog
Image Source: http://www.skipprichard.com

When I started blogging, I just knew that I wanted to write.

With sites like WordPress and Blogspot, it’s easy.

Create an account, log in, and start blogging!

Then, like everything else, it turns out there’s actually work involved.  -.-

I don’t only have to worry about topics to write about and writing well, I have to worry about adding images, sizing images, page load times, increasing traffic, links, pingbacks, SEO, alt tags, descriptions, categories, tags, slugs – the list is endless.

It’s all a little overwhelming when you first start.

Thankfully, you don’t have to know everything. 😀

A few months ago, Becky over at SL Blogger Support started writing a series of articles aimed at helping bloggers to become better at blogging.

Many of the steps I already knew, but I had gotten lazy and wasn’t paying attention.

Niche

The first article was about finding a ‘niche’ for your blog.

There are literally millions of blogs, so finding that niche can help you find readers.

I’m still in the process of defining and refining my niche – just asking some very basic questions about my blog made me realize that I had wandered from my original purpose.

My blog is like me – it changes and grows.

As I learn about new things, I want to share what I learn.

So although my original audience was people interested in dance, I have expanded to include photography, art, and sometimes fashion.

(Maybe ‘style’ is a better word than fashion – I’m not always on top of the latest trends, but I know what I like. 😀 )

SEO

The next article was about SEO – what it is and how to use it for good. 😛

This one made me a bit angry with myself – some of these were very simple things that I knew and should have been doing, but wasn’t.

Grrr.

I made a few changes to my blog – I changed my tagline to reflect the added topics, and I changed my theme to one that offered better formatting/readability options than my previous one.

I am still debating whether it’s worth it to me to pay for a domain name or if I should just continue with the free WordPress option.

I know a fellow blogger had issues when changing over from the free WP site to a paid domain, and I don’t want to make extra headaches for myself.

While my dream is to someday get paid to write, I’m not there yet.

With only one income and lots of expenses (college tuition, anyone?), sometimes it’s hard to justify any extra spent on ‘frivolous’ purchases. 😦

As I was debating domains and upgrades, I came across a post from another blogger – Do I REALLY need to pay for that?

Sometimes it’s hard to know if you’re making the right decisions.

It’s nice to see that I’m not the only one who’s trying to figure it all out. 🙂

I did take Becky’s advice and I signed up for Google’s Webmaster Tools.

However, I don’t find using said tools to be intuitive in any way whatsoever, so I’ve decided to ignore them for now, and concentrate on things I do understand.

My SEO Changes

I have been paying attention to my post titles and changing the slugs to help with searches.

My LOTD posts are numbered, but since they are not my primary focus for the blog, I’m not too concerned with them.

When I started the LOTD posts, I was taking the photos in-world and saving them as .png files to preserve details.

However, .png files load more slowly.

Slow loading times can kill your traffic – because it needs to be instant on the internet. 😛

So I have begun resizing my images when I edit them and I save them as .jpegs rather than .pngs.

There is some loss in quality, but the faster load times are worth it.

What I wasn’t doing was giving my images (LOTD and others) meaningful titles.

Nor was I filling in the alt tags.

I make sure that I am doing both of those now.

Buffer has a great post on how to optimize images for blogs and social media.

I also have begun breaking up text-heavy posts (like this one!) with subheadings to help with readability.

Growing Your Blog

One of the things Becky mentioned is feeds and that if you are on feeds, search engines may see your blog as ‘duplicate content,’ which can hurt your search rankings.

For many SL fashion bloggers, being on feeds is a must.

You can, as Becky suggests, set it up so that your posts only show as excerpts so that readers have to click through to your blog to read the entire post.

However, some feeds specifically say that you must not show excerpts only – so what to do?

You would think that being on feeds would get you more traffic, but it turns out that isn’t always the case.

Becky’s latest post was one that really got me thinking.

I actually printed it out and made notes on it as I read through it.  (Nerd? Me? Noooo!)

Again, much of what she writes are things I knew, but wasn’t using to my advantage.

Having taught journalism, I knew about headlines, subheads, pull quotes, etc.

(Side note: Pull quotes and other cool options are sometimes only available with WordPress.org.  Rather frustrating when you are using WordPress.com – another item to weigh when deciding whether to pay or use the free version of WP.)

When you teach literature, however, the writing style rules are different.

Some things are too ingrained for me to change (like double spacing after a period), but I certainly need to be more aware of my writing style if I want my blog to grow.

It also made me go back through my blog and look at what people were actually reading, not what I thought they were. 😀

Social Media

In addition to your blog itself, tying into social media is almost a must these days.

But with so many platforms available, which one(s) do you choose?

For me, it’s been trial and error.

I loathe Facebook, so even though I could probably benefit from using it, I won’t.

I have found a nice alternative on Avatar Social Network, and I am having a good time using it.

I joined Twitter and found that I really like it.

I have started using TweetDeck and following various topics of interest – I’ve found it extremely useful.

I also learned about Twitter Cards – if you don’t have one, get one!

I’m on Google+, but I don’t have a page as yet.

Plus (no pun intended), Google has been making some changes, so I’m waiting to see what happens there for a bit before I jump in.

I joined Reddit, but I haven’t found it particularly useful or busy.

I was told the SL Universe Forums were another popular place – I joined, and for now I’m lurking while I figure it out. 😛

I joined Plurk a few days ago, and I must say, I like it a lot.

I’ve always heard it was full of drama, but I haven’t found that to be true (yet).

There was a hilarious thread about someone squatting on someone else’s sim (I’m still laughing), so while I feel like a complete noob using it, I’m having a good time!

I’m also on Ello, but the last time I checked, it wasn’t very active, so I’m holding off on that one for a while as well.

Photography

Since I’ve fallen in love with taking photos in-world, I’ve joined KoinUp and Flickr.

The KoinUp interface is kind of ‘old-school,’ but there are a lot of great artists there, and I’m slowly learning my way around.

I’m still trying to figure out how to add a widget for my KoinUp photos, so if you know how – help a girl out!

KoinUp also lets you cross-post to Flickr and you can email snapshots directly to your KoinUp if you want.

I haven’t done either of those yet, but options are always nice. 🙂

Flickr, I’m finding, is an entirely different ball of wax.

I found some terrific artists and photographers to follow and I started uploading my own photos.

Then I had to learn about licensing, groups, tags, etc.

Just when I thought I had a handle on how folks use Flickr, I came across a post about Flickr advice.

I realized I wasn’t adding enough tags to my photos and that I should be adding my photos to more groups if I want more views (and hopefully more readers).

I’d been adding my photos to 5-10 groups and feeling slightly guilty for adding them to so many.

The guilt evaporated after learning that many people are adding their photos to 200+ groups – no wonder they were getting so many views!

In one of my in-world blogger groups, there was a discussion about people ‘reposting’ pictures on Flickr as a way to get more views.

(A certain number of views per photo on Flickr are required on some blogger applications for SL creators.)

I didn’t even know you could ‘repost’ a photo. 😛

Summary

There’s a wealth of information out there about how to grow your blog.

Use it!

  • Know who you’re writing for.
  • Learn to write better headlines.
  • Format your content for easier reading and optimize your images for faster loading.
  • Use social media to interact with others and gain followers/readers.

Above all, don’t forget to have fun!

6 thoughts on “Tips To Help Grow Your Blog

  1. Hi Kat, thanks for sharing my articles for SL Blogger Support in your post. I’m glad you’re finding them useful. In regards to “whether it’s worth it to me to pay for a domain name or if I should just continue with the free WordPress option.” While a custom domain costs money, you can still continue to use the free WordPress.com option. There’s usually no headache involved at all as the process is very easy. I’m curious, kind of issues was your friend having, and were they solely related to getting a custom domain for their WordPress.com site?

    1. The friend in question was Ever Afterr and I am not sure if the domain switch was the only change she made. However, the issue was that her posts weren’t showing up in readers after the switch. It appears to have been sorted, but I don’t know if they ever figured out what the problem was.
      For myself, if I do buy a domain, I’d likely also want to use WP as a CMS so I would have access to plug-ins. Even if I added the custom design option, some of the themes are still very limiting. I’d be curious to hear your thoughts on using .com versus .org. 🙂

      1. Strange to hear about Ever’s experience as it doesn’t mirror mine. That’s not to say weird stuff won’t happen though. The post on making the move from WordPress.com to WordPress.org is in the pipe – I’ve done it a few times, and it isn’t always straight-forward, but I’ll present the pros and cons.

    2. Hey gals! Yes there was a glitch that lasted a few days after I switched my domain; new posts that I made on EverAfterrSL.com did not show up in feeds that were subscribed to EverAfterrSL.Wordpress.com and vice-versa.

      Eventually it got sorted out, and missing posts were kinda dumped into the feeds all at once. I still monitor both through Feedly just to ensure that the issue doesn’t persist. But I did have to get someone at WordPress Support to ping the feed so people who followed my site in WP’s Reader would be re-synced to the new content. That took a day or two of posting on the WordPress Support forum, and someone had to specifically flag my thread so a Mod/Support staff member would see it. Not the best course of action, but it seems that free members don’t get access to a proper ticketing system or similar.

      Based on that experience, I would probably recommend that someone who starts using a custom domain name on their free WordPress.com account allows a few days time to pass before they publish a new post. That *should* give the domain time to fully redirect and allow the feeds to re-sync if necessary.

Comments are closed.