Social Media Report

SocialMediaReport
Image Source: http://www.convinceandconvert.com

Over the last couple of weeks I have added several social media sites to my seemingly endless list. 😛

I’m a curious person by nature, so it’s interesting to see what topics people are talking about.

I also like to observe people, and social media lets me do lots of that as well.

However, I’m finding that keeping up with all the social media has become a huge time suck for me.

Not necessarily because I’m accomplishing anything, but because I enjoy watching how people communicate and interact on social media. 😀

I think I’m going to have to start using my timer to limit how much of my day I spend on social media.

I did want to report back on my impressions of some of the new networks I’ve tried.

KoinUp

I like KoinUp, because I like looking at digital art.

There are some really great artists on the site.

That said, the interface leaves a little to be desired.

It seems a tad – empty, and it takes a lot of clicks to get where you want to go.

I suppose I have been spoiled by Flickr, but it just seems clunky, which is too bad, because again, there are a lot of great artists on the site.

The site has discussion boards, but from what little I’ve seen, hardly anyone uses them.

It also took me a bit to understand ‘contacts’ on KoinUp.

Contacts are like ‘followers’ on Flickr (I think?) and they have an ‘add to your favorites’ button.

People can add you back (or not), same as on Flickr and other sites.

I’m going to stick with it for a few more weeks and see how it goes.

Reddit

I must confess, Reddit confuses me.

It’s very text heavy and finding your way around is not at all intuitive.

I was pretty lost, even after reading all of their ‘Welcome to Reddit’ material.

On the advice of EverAfterr (check out her blog here), I added the RES app to my browser and was able to at least sort of get a handle on things.

I have my subreddits sorted to appear on my dashboard, though I weeded out most of the automatic subreddits you get.

It doesn’t seem to be a very active network for SL’ers, from what I’ve seen in my few weeks there.

I tend to be more of a lurker than an active poster myself, so maybe that isn’t true, I don’t know.

To date, most of what I’ve seen is bloggers posting links to their blogs.

Which is fine, but since I follow most of their blogs already, Reddit may be a redundant network for me.

Having ‘friends’ on Reddit is also a bit confusing.

So far, it seems I can add someone as a ‘friend,’ but it looks more like I am ‘following’ them, so maybe it’s just a difference in terminology?

At least adding the RES dashboard helped, so that I don’t feel like I’m being slammed by a wall of text when I open it. 😀

Again, I’m going to stick with it for a few more weeks.

Now that I figured out how to post a question/topic, I might actually do that!

Twitter

I like Twitter a lot because of the ‘right now’ nature of it.

I’m a big fan of satire and sarcasm, and there’s tons of it to be found on Twitter. 😛

I’ve been using the Twitter Card that I set up last week, and so far things are working fine.

I’m trying to be more active on Twitter and less of a lurker, though it doesn’t come easy for me.

I was using TweetDeck to track various topics related to SL, but in the next few weeks I am going to try out HootSuite and see how that works for me.

I also found a couple of other alternatives to TweetDeck and HootSuite that I may try as well.

Other Networks

I am still researching Flickr and Google+ so I can get the most out of them.

However, since they are more ‘robust’ topics than the other networks, I will discuss them in a different post.

I did also finally join the SL Universe forums, so after I have a bit of experience under my belt there, I will report on it.

If you are on any of the networks mentioned here, feel free to add me – the more the merrier!

5 thoughts on “Social Media Report

  1. Thanks for mentioning KoinUp! IIRC it actually came before Flickr in terms of being a big hub of SL activity? I know some people really prefer their layout, and it gets less action than Flickr, so it may be ultimately easier to follow once we get used to the interface. Yet another one to look at more closely. /me adds it to the growing list!

    I really, really like Reddit but it depends *heavily* upon people actually getting engaged and participating in conversations. Unfortunately lurkers probably don’t get as much out of it, unless they use it as a blog feed of sorts – and like you said, that’s probably often redundant for people who read blogs already. If you want to weed those out and only see text posts, you can click on the “flair” buttons on the sidebar to just see what’s new in Discussions, Help topics, etc. I like to see it all, but then I visit there several times a day. To me, it’s just much easier to handle than a busy forum!

    I *still* need to find a better way of browsing Flickr. Being joined to a lot of groups is great – that means you can add your photos to a really wide pool – but to visit each and every group daily to see all the adds would be exhausting. I’m so bummed that there’s not some kind of central aggregation for groups you’re in! 😦

    1. You and me both! It boggles me why there isn’t a ‘group’ option like there is for ‘people’ so you can see recent posts by groups. Soooo dumb. I think I will use KoinUp for taking landscape and ‘play’ photography, especially since you can send pics via email and then cross post to Flickr.
      Reddit is a bit intimidating, what with all the ‘be a good redditor’ reminders everywhere, the whole ‘shadow banning’ issue, and the fact that the rules are seemingly different for every subreddit. :/

      1. YES, really good call re: differing rules all over Reddit. I *think* the Shadowbanning algorithm is the same across the whole site, but I could be wrong. Generally speaking, if you comment a lot and try to only link back to your site 2x a week or so, all should be well. Some people, like Inara, are given “white list” status because her posts are seen as a huge contribution to the community there. But in general, they want folks to be a lot more vocal in text posts rather than just linking blogs, which makes sense.

        I’m really curious know about KoinUp! The cross post ability is really cool too. Gonna check it out!

        1. I’d love to be more vocal on Reddit, but I haven’t seen much to comment on. I will be using it this week to try and get more familiar with it. Probably just me and my ‘lurker’ nature. 😀

Comments are closed.