Hello Weekend!

Image Source: makeameme.org
Image Source: makeameme.org

It’s finally Friday!!

Which means I still have an a**load of stuff to do before tomorrow.

Sigh.

I was up bright and early this morning to start cleaning (I was supposed to do that yesterday, but I got distracted working on LOTD pics). 😀

When I logged in yesterday, more news – things are in flux for everyone lately, it seems.

Performance Art

The latest issue of Rez Magazine had an interesting article about a possible new ‘performance art’ venue opening in SL.

Yummy was the first one I know of to apply that term to the new direction that many dance performers seem to be heading.

I think it’s more appropriate than ‘burlesque’ or ‘neo-burlesque’ or ‘cabaret,’ and it seems to be gaining traction, given the number of times I’ve heard/seen it lately.

Performance art, to me, means that I will be able to see something someone has created from their soul – a piece with layers of meaning, some obvious, some not, some hidden even from the performance artist him/herself.

It’s entertainment, yes, but also so much more than that – a story, a feeling, evoking emotions (positive and/or negative) from the audience.

It will be interesting to see how this shift impacts current/future performers in SL.

Events/Shows

There are a TON of events going on right now – as always seems to be the case in SL.

Collabor88 opens their current round today.

I’m never lucky enough to get in on the first day, so I’ll probably stop by sometime next week.

We ❤ Role Play is open now, and there are some gorgeous items I want to pick up, if I can ever find the time. 😛

FaMESHed is also open and celebrating their anniversary.

Join the group (it’s free), and pick up a TON of free anniversary gifties.

The Chapter 4 is open, also celebrating an anniversary, so stop by there for some free goodies as well.

This weekend also has a number of dance shows in addition to the regular weekend fare.

Fusion Dance Crew is putting on a show on Saturday, as are the Breezes Dancers.

I think the Waterfront Theater is also looking for acts for their variety show next month, so if you’re interested in that, check it out.

Sadly, I probably won’t have time to attend many (if any) shows this weekend, so if you go, take lots of pics and share them!

Enjoy your weekend, folks!

2 thoughts on “Hello Weekend!

  1. Re: Performance Art. *smile* Yummy also used the term Performance Art, which reminded me of days gone by when I composed “performance art”, and actually performed one in Philadelphia. By my own standards I admit it wasn’t very good.

    My BFA was awarded for work done in the area of “Video Art” which – to me – was a form of performance art, with the viewers removed to a safe distance – – on the far side of the camera from the action. My professor’s biggest criticism of my Video Art works was to call me “Mr. Hollywood.” And yes it was NOT a compliment. 🙂 Path

Comments are closed.