Reflections on a Lazy Sunday

This seemed appropriate with the birth of the new princess. :-)   Image Source:  www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk
This seemed appropriate with the birth of the new princess. 🙂
Image Source: http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk

Well, I wish it was a lazy Sunday. 🙂

Things continue at the same level of craziness in RL, and it’s difficult to find time to do all the things I want to do, like blogging and taking photos!

I guess on the up side, I’m learning to do some of those things faster. 😛

I was reading through my feeds today and saw a post about rumors regarding the possible name of LL’s next gen platform.

I don’t know if I believe that SANSAR will be the actual name of the NGP, but who knows?

I also came across another post about Bright Canopy, the people who are in the process of creating a service to replace the now-defunct SL Go.

I am happy that a service to replace SL Go may be available shortly.

However, I myself am kind of struggling with my feelings towards SL lately.

It all started with the announcement about the Linux viewer.

Knowing that many of my friends will definitely be leaving SL in the near future has left me wondering how I feel about it all.

Do I think that SL will close any time soon?

No.

But then, they didn’t think their access would be gone, either.

So you never know.

I have several projects already in the works, and several still in the planning stages, and now I’m wondering whether it’s worth it to me to put in the work on a platform that ‘could’ disappear at any time.

For now, I’m still forging ahead, but not with the same gusto as previously.

Over the years, I’ve spent quite a bit of RL money in this ‘game’ called SL.

As I was reading through the forum comments about LL’s request for ‘help’ with keeping the Linux viewer going, I read this:

“I understand the “idea” but SL is not a neighborhood volunteer vegetable garden. It is the product of a for-profit company. What company tells the “customer” to work for free?”

If you want to read the thread, you can find it here.

While I understand that the nature of SL requires a certain bit of give-and-take between users and LL, it does seem a bit odd for a company to say, “Hey – here’s our product.  We’d love for you to use it, but you have to help us keep it up and running.”

I totally understand that the Linux users may be a small community and that the revenue it generates is much less than the operating cost.

It makes perfect business sense to then say, “Sorry – it just isn’t cost-effective for us to provide this service.”

However, after my recent experience helping a new user create an account (and who has yet to log back in), I’m starting to wonder.

How long will it be before the things I’m interested in become no longer ‘cost-effective?’

Perhaps my thinking is just a reflection of the cyclical nature of things.

I have usually taken a hiatus from SL each year, to give myself time to recharge.

This year, because of the projects I have going (and have in the works), I haven’t – and don’t plan to – take a hiatus.

Do you ever feel the need to take a step back and reflect/recharge on your Second Life?

2 thoughts on “Reflections on a Lazy Sunday

  1. Too many steps back, in my case. And of course, once I finally decide to get my bum back into SL again, all I read about are signs of impending down-scaling, lack of support, and LL’s devotion to their new next-gen platform. Grrr!

    Like yourself, I’ve spent way too much $ on this “game” and to think that the user base and general interest in keeping SL alive may dwindle even more than it already has is hella depressing. That LL has essentially made it clear that “what happens in SL stays in SL”, I hope there’s enough interest to keep the first generation of Second Life going for a good while after v2 debuts – otherwise all our investments (monetary, time, personal connections, etc) will fade away as if they never existed. Too sad to think about!

    1. I think SL will keep going for quite a while – I don’t see LL killing their cash cow. Of course, that all may depend on how popular (and profitable) the new platform is. I have always known that the end of SL was out of my control, it just never seemed so imminent as it has lately. Btw – I hopped over to your blog – I love the premise. Can’t wait to read what happens next! 🙂

Comments are closed.