How Do You SL?

Image Source:  modemworld.wordpress.com
Image Source: modemworld.wordpress.com

The demise of SL Go has caused quite a stir among users.

After listening to this week’s Drax Files Radio Hour (which featured Dennis Harper of OnLive), I started to wonder.

SL Go allowed users to experience SL in all its graphical glory.

Have an old system that can’t handle Advanced Lighting Mode?

A graphics card that chokes when you turn on shadows?

No access to a PC, but have a tablet?

For those people, SL Go was the answer.

Not everyone can afford a computer that has all the bells and whistles necessary to experience everything SL has to offer.

Not everyone has access to high-speed internet connections.

Everyone (of course) wants to have the ‘full’ experience when using SL.

How can you do that if you’re surrounded by grey boxes, grey avatars, and can’t even move because of the lag?

I, with many others, hope that someone sees what a difference SL Go made, and has the vision to see what a service like it could mean, not only to SL users, but other ‘games’ as well.

Then I started to wonder – how do you SL?

I am lucky enough to have access to high-speed internet and I have a decent computer set up.

My thoughtful husband keeps things updated and upgraded for me.

Because of that, I can run SL on Ultra graphics settings and have all the pretty lights and shadows.

Once I experienced SL on Ultra, I became interested in photography.

I can run on Ultra, set a pretty high resolution, put my anti-aliasing to 16x, and take some pretty decent shots.

I would never be able to do that on a basic machine.

I could run SL, but it just wouldn’t be the same.

I’ve had to bump my settings down a few times at shows in order to try and combat lag, and I hated it.

Once you go Ultra, it’s hard to go back. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

What kind of machine do you use for SL?

Is it sufficient for your needs?

Do you wish you could afford to upgrade – pieces or parts or a brand new machine?

Did you use SL Go?

Would you use another service like it if it significantly improved your SL experience?

Would you use SL on a tablet or another mobile device?

11 thoughts on “How Do You SL?

  1. My “Main” computer (an HP TouchSmart with a 23″ monitor) was state of the art when I bought it 6 years ago. I use firestorm and I set the graphics on low and then manually adjust things so that it – – well it works. I very recently bought a new Laptop with uptodate processor, memory and graphics card. I can run SL on ultra on it – but . . . I don’t like the small screen. The Lappy is handy for running more than one avatar in addition to Path and I also can use it to stream music without that extra load on the Touchscreen. I have plans to buy a new desktop and monitor soon – – but my motorhome has been in the shop with a huge list of things to do to it (preparing it to sell) for several weeks and until I get the bill for that . . . not buying much of anything I don’t Have to Have. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Path

    1. I think that is the situation for a lot of people – RL bills/responsibilities come first, and high-end computers aren’t usually on a ‘must-have’ list, unless you use it in your RL job.
      What about people who are on a fixed income? I doubt high-end computers are even on their radar for purchases, but those might be some people who would benefit greatly from the social aspect of SL. Or people who live in isolated/rural areas.
      My husband, bless his heart, wants to upgrade my PC to a high-end machine, but we have other things to take care of first. College tuition is MUCH more important than whether I can take pretty pictures in a game. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I’m just happy to run on medium or slightly higher. Use firestorm and I’m happy. I don’t get bogged with lag much, BUT sometimes in a sim with over 70 people, I don’t move my camera much or I get that texture message and I’ll be crashing soon! I have high speed internet too, altho sometimes it doesn’t seem like it. But all in all, I’m good where I am! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m going to answer your question but ask another one which is probably stupid but………..

    I “do” SL on a very expensive top of the line laptop that cost me $3500 plus tax, 1 yr old. But it’s a Mac and they do have issues with SL. I updated to the latest FS and have been crashing like crazy (not just the usual freezing I get sometimes and having to relog) since then at crowded venues or even at “shopping events” where there are loads of textures but not necessarily loads of people and probably a whole lot of mesh as well. eg. Xiasumi School Festival. I couldn’t even last two minutes at that place. I was desperate enough to try the latest SL viewer to go there to get something I wanted, but it was the same so I had to stop blaming FS. Maybe it’s something in the latest code of the SL viewer that my mac doesn’t like.

    But my question is, if an outside party can provide such a good service for SL why can’t LL? Wouldn’t it be to their benefit to have happy clients? Even if they make you pay extra. Mind you I pay them a huge chunk of money in tier every month plus I and my two alts are premium members, so I do contribute well to their coffers. I never got around to using SL go so I have no idea if it would have made any difference.

    1. I don’t use Mac, so I’m not sure about your issues. I do know that some people have been having issues with things loading correctly (or at all) once the CDN was implemented.
      I haven’t been the Xiasumi yet, I will have to go and see what happens for me. Although generally when I go to large events, I will derender all the avatars so that all I am loading are the items. I can’t move around, so I have to shop via moving my camera, but I usually do that anyway. The only place I have had issues when I shop that way is at The Arcade. It’s hard to know exactly what is causing issues sometimes, given the complexity that is SL.
      As to whether LL could provide a service like SL Go, I think they could. Whether they will/would is an entirely different question. SL Go was not making $ (yet), and now that Sony has acquired their patents for the service, it would mean LL making their own service from the ground up. Given their current focus on the NGP, I just don’t see that happening. But I’m hopeful that someone will see the potential. As people move to more mobile solutions for everything, including gaming, there will likely be a lot of changes over the next several years.

  4. I have an ASUS laptop with 2 Nvidia graphics cards. It’s two years old now, but the graphics cards are updated regularly by GeForce, so I’m able to run on Ultra and run really well. I don’t own a desktop. I used to have a MAC, but the cost was so prohibitive when it came time to replace it, that I went with this one and have been very happy. It’s designed for gaming so graphics are really awesome. I’m also lucky enough to have really fast wifi. I have Comcast and upgraded to download speeds of 50 mbps, but they have a new plan with download speeds of 105…trying to figure out how to sneak that past the husband, lol ๐Ÿ™‚ I used to crash all the time like Jo with the MAC, but this thing hardly ever does….and when it does it’s always because of a hiccup in my wireless signal *glares at the little bars*

  5. I have a netbook which can do ultra for photos but is generally on low to medium, and a tablet with lumiya. A little bit of me misses ultra mode, but my ideals of life are to live a stripped down minimal RL, and a hulking pc and monitor just doesn’t work in my life right now.

    1. Working on a laptop sounds good, but I find I really prefer to have my regular sized keyboard, mouse, and my nice big monitor. ๐Ÿ™‚ My poor old eyes just find it easier. ๐Ÿ˜›

      1. Heh, when I want a big monitor u can plug it into the hdmi on a 32 inch TV and plug a wireless USB and mouse in and use that ๐Ÿ™‚

        We have been using that to watch creative live videos we have bought ๐Ÿ™‚

        1. How do you like the ones you have purchased? I did an all day free one (waaaaayy too long, but free), but I still haven’t pulled the trigger to purchase one.

          1. James Victorie – Bold and fearless poster design was awesome.

            Ailsa has other ones she plays on art and photography and she got all of them at the discounted prices. They look good. Worth the $40 I would say.

            As an aside, the James Victorie videos are broken up into about 30 videos between 10 and 40 minutes each. Makes viewing easier when you can watch a segment or two a night depending on length.

Comments are closed.