What Do You Get?

Image Source: memegenerator.net
Image Source: memegenerator.net

Second Life has been getting a lot of good press lately.

With all the new hype/expectations linked to the renewed interest in VR, people are starting to look at SL a little differently.

Of course, those of us who have been here for years already know what SL is and isn’t.

I am constantly amazed by the number of people who think spending time in SL is crazy.

But spending 4-6 hours a day on the couch in front of the TV is perfectly acceptable?

I know people who think nothing of spending their entire weekend playing in a Magic tournament, but say ‘The only people who play Second Life are those who don’t have a first life!’

So since Second Life has had such a bad reputation for much of its existence, I wondered.

What keeps you coming back?

What do you get out of SL?

Is the social aspect the most important?

Doing something you can’t do in RL?

Doing something you wouldn’t do in RL?

4 thoughts on “What Do You Get?

  1. Today is Easter and I have more friends on line than usual, so perhaps there is something to the no-RL theory, sometimes, for some people. That is the wonder of SL it is different things to different people at different times.
    As for me, yes, the social aspect is top of the list, but it is also very important to me that I “own” a home(s) of my own vs. the little apartment I rent RL. The creative aspects are also important to me, whether I am building (mostly prims) or buying stuff to decorate with.

  2. SL (and other vws) to me are a platform for inspiring and constantly evolving art, No matter how beautiful an rl painting or sculpture is, theres no beating the experience of walking “into” the painting, of performing “as” the sculpture in a captivating virtual environment..

Comments are closed.