Decisions, Decisions

QuestionMarksQuestions

For the last week or so, I’ve been trying to make some decisions about what to do with my blog and in SL.

Canary Beck wrote an article about finding a niche for your blog, and although it was focused on fashion blogging, it got me to thinking (dangerous, I know!).

Because I am interested and involved in dance in SL, that was my original focus for this blog.

However, as time has progressed, I have written about various topics, some related to dance, some not – though all have been of interest to me. 😀

I became curious about what I’ve written that has been the most popular, so I headed over to my stats page to check it out.

I don’t usually pay much attention to my stats, but I decided to look, in part because I have been considering whether to continue using the free WordPress, or to get a domain.

A domain would be nice and would allow me some customization options I don’t currently have.

However, it would also mean more technical work for me – more of the maintenance would fall on my shoulders.

I’m not the tech-iest person, so that thought is not appealing. :/

I was also curious to see what posts have been the most popular.

BlogStatsGraphStats

For 2014, I had 8,513 views and 2,069 visitors, which is 4.11 views per visitor.

Not bad for my first year, especially considering that there were several months that I didn’t blog at all.

I had around 90 likes and 300 comments.

So far in 2015, I have 5,986 views and 1,894 visitors, with 3.16 views per visitor.

That means I should be on track to exceed last year’s numbers for views and visitors (yay!).

I have 184 likes and 264 comments for 2015, so I have already doubled my likes (again, yay!) and I am on track to exceed last year’s comments (triple yay!).

After looking at my stats, I’m feeling pretty good.

I’m actually doing much better than I thought.

I’m getting a decent number of referrals from Google searches, though I can’t tell exactly what terms people have used to find my blog (thanks to Google’s search privacy policies).

Since I can’t tell what terms are bringing people to the blog, I decided to look at what posts have been the most popular.

PopularPopular Posts

Unsurprisingly, my LOTD posts are some of the worst performers.

When I started them, I wanted to work on my photography skills and have a record of various outfits.

I have since decided to try and focus the LOTD around a costume theme or designer, in the hopes that those will be more interesting.

If not, well, at least I’m learning about lighting and composition and windlights and camera angles and such. 😀

As for popular posts, they all seem to revolve around some technical aspect.

My posts on my mesh body purchase were very popular, as were various posts about things like lag, ARC, and alpha issues.

Other popular posts included writings over online identities and anonymity on the internet.

So although my most popular posts were related to dance in SL, they didn’t really focus on dance.

QuestionMarksMore Questions

I asked in an earlier post what dance topics would be of interest to readers.

Several people responded that they were interested in learning more about dance performers and venue owners, but since my previous interview posts have not been that popular, I’m left wondering what it is that people want to know about performers and venue owners.

Is the interest in their history (how they came to SL/dance), is the interest in their current projects, or some other area?

Some readers expressed an interest in learning more about lighting and special fx – things which perhaps are better addressed by in-world classes and/or demonstrations, rather than a dry read on the web?

I’m wondering whether something like a ‘show and tell’ or a ‘dancer’s workshop’ on those topics would be of interest.

I am by no means an expert, but I am always willing to share what I know, and go search for information I don’t have. 🙂

Others expressed interest in learning more about costumes (and their creators) and props, as well as learning more about how dancers create their routines.

These topics may be better suited to something like a blog post, but some in-world options might be good as well.

Perhaps a set building demo or workshop that allowed some ‘hands-on’ activities?

RockPaperScissorsDecisions

After doing some hard thinking, I have decided to try some new things.

Based on the results of the last Avi Choice awards for dance, clearly there are a lot of dancers, choreographers, and venues that I’ve never even heard of before.

⇒ So more exploring is in order – for dance venues, animation stores, etc.

I have a little club that I have been debating on opening for some time now.

It’s currently sitting empty, which seems silly.

⇒ I’d like to offer some workshop/class opportunities there – for things like set building, tools, tips and tricks, and other dance-related skills/topics.

So if you’d be interested in a workshop – things like ‘Playing with Particles’ or ‘Formations – Why You Need Them,’ let me know. 🙂

I don’t have any times/dates set in stone; I’d like to go with the flow and see what works best.

⇒ I’m also considering putting on performances at the club.

Again, I’m not set on any times/dates as of yet, so if you’re interested in performing, let me know.

I’d like some dance acts, of course, but if you’re a comedian, singer, or other type of performer, those acts would be welcome as well.

⇒ I do hope to continue with my interviews of dancers, troupe leaders, and venue owners, so I will be working on those.

If there is a particular person you’d love to see me interview, drop me a message/IM/tweet/whatever.

If you’re a dancer, venue owner, or troupe leader and would like to be interviewed, hit me up. 🙂

I have generally done my interviews via note card due to time constraints, but I would certainly be open to other options if there is interest.

As always, any feedback is welcome.

Happy Friday, everyone! 😀

