What’s Important?

This quote currently hangs above my desk as a reminder. :-)   Image Source: www.juxtapost.com
This quote currently hangs above my desk as a reminder. 🙂
Image Source: http://www.juxtapost.com

Yesterday I wrote about sometimes feeling that no one is listening.

Several of you left great comments, and they really got me thinking.

One of the things mentioned was the reason for blogging.

Personally, I blog for many reasons.

I like to write, I’m good at writing, I like to learn, and I like to share what I learn.

Would it matter if no one ever read my writing?

Well, yes.  Of course it would.

If I wasn’t interested in having other people read my writing, I wouldn’t have a blog.

When I started this blog, my focus was on dance.

Dancing in SL was my passion and I wanted to learn and share.

Just as in RL, things change in SL.

I’m still interested in dance, but other things have also become a focus.

I am thoroughly enjoying taking pictures and learning how to do them well.

I’ve considered changing up the blog – changing the tag line, changing the theme, the layout, etc.

I’ve even considered whether I should shutter this blog and start another one with a different focus, or have two blogs.

None of those choices are particularly appealing.

I decided that the blog is like me – fun (I hope!), informative, and interested in lots of different things.

So with those things decided, where do I go from here?

What is important?

Am I stuck on stats?

Are likes more important than views?

Are views more important than comments?

After spending some time in serious contemplation, what matters to me most will always be the comments.

That’s one of the main reasons I blog – to share my thoughts and ideas and to (hopefully) invite others into a conversation about them.

Of course, I’d love to get more likes and views (because most bloggers share the dream that one day, someone will pay us to do what we love!), but it’s not something I obsess over on a daily basis.

I worry sometimes that I’ll run out of things to say, but my family assures me that will never happen. 😀

And now, back to your regularly scheduled programming. 😛

2 thoughts on “What’s Important?

  1. I think that some days are harder than others. My blog is very very new, but it’s also not my first blog ☺️ I used to feel the same way when I wrote a post that I was happy with and proud of, and it barely got noticed, and yet other ‘filler content’ got plenty of love. I think you’ve just to blog for yourself first and foremost. If you’ve a handful of dedicated readers, that’s more than you’d have if you didn’t blog. ☺️

Comments are closed.