Syndication and Feeds

Image Source:  www.globesign.com
This diagram makes my head hurt. 😦 Image Source: http://www.globesign.com

As I work to increase the reach of my blog, I’ve found myself wondering how other bloggers do things.

One of the recommended ways to increase blog traffic is to be syndicated.

The definition of syndication, according to Dictionary.com, is “to publish simultaneously, or supply for simultaneous publication, in a number of newspapers or other periodicals in different places.”

As I have become more active in the blogging world, I’ve noticed that most vendors who are looking for bloggers want to know what ‘feeds’ your blog is on in the application.

Now, as I’m sure you’re aware, there are MILLION blogs about SL.

Probably 95% of them are fashion blogs.

My blog is not a fashion blog, although I do LOTD posts.

Following links on other blogs, I’ve found a couple of blogs that are ‘feeds.’

However, the process for getting a blog on a feed is a mystery to me.

I am clueless as to how you locate a ‘feed’ (especially if you are not a fashion blogger) and what the requirements are for getting on a feed.

I would love to get my blog on a ‘feed/s’ and be able to claim syndication, but alas, I am a (mostly) dance blog lost in a sea of clothing. 😦

In addition to syndication/feeds, I wonder how other bloggers manage to stay up to date with the overwhelming amount of info that is published each day on the interwebs.

I use the WordPress reader to follow blogs, but if the blog I want to follow is not also a WordPress blog (if, for example, it’s a Blogger blog or even a self-hosted blog), the updates on the Reader feed are hit and miss.

I might get the latest post from Tales of the Blue Moon, or I might not.

I never know.

I don’t want to have to visit every website to check for updates (that’s the whole point of a feed reader, right?), so I’ve been very frustrated.

I’ve tried to see if there is something I need to change in the settings for my WP Reader, but haven’t had any luck locating any information.

I will continue to use WP for my blog, because I love it, but I’m considering buying a domain and going self-hosted.

I’m also wondering if I should use a different feed reader (like Feedly) instead of relying on the built-in WP reader.

Are there options out there that would also help with cross-posting in the various social media platforms?

Trying to keep up every day with blogs, Twitter, Google+, emails, Flickr, and other social media is taking way more time than I’d like it to.

I don’t have a Google Page (is that worth doing?), I’m on Ello (does anyone use Ello?), and I’m wondering if I’m already on too many platforms, or if I’m not on enough.

So, fellow bloggers/readers/social media experts – help a girl out here!

What do you do or recommend in regards to feeds/readers/syndication/social media?

Any and all information is appreciated.

Happy Friday, everyone!

7 thoughts on “Syndication and Feeds

  1. Thanks for posting that! I would like to know that myself 😛 I Hope someone in the know will answer. By the way I love this: “dance blog lost in a sea of clothing” It is great and unique! That’s how you differentiate among the millions of fashion blogs. I stumbled upon a blogger (I forget the name now)- A guy fused his two main interests on the blog-Bikes and Ballet, and he has huge following! On top of that a Second Life blogger, hmm I haven’t seen that before, I am going to look at your other posts now, he he. I looked into SL briefly years ago, but I didn’t join in the end, or did and couldn’t figure it out. Do you recommend it? What are the good/ bad things about it? Thanks and good luck with everything! Gia xx

    1. I love SL, though I readily admit it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. But then, neither is Halo, COD or WoW. 😛 SL has a learning curve, but once you have a handle on the basics, it’s a digital playground.
      I love Bikes and Ballet – what a great name! I think my biggest problem is finding a ‘niche’ – because I’m interested in a LOT of different things, and I talk about them all. So for now, I’ll just keep plugging along. 😀

  2. I have an Ello account but never used it. You can use an app like Tweetdeck to send all your posts out at once? My blog and Instagram feed directly into my Facebook page. It’s a tough one though!
    I say blog about what you like! I use the reader here and Bloglovin to view my feeds. Me and Feedly don’t get along but I think I’m in the minority there.

    1. I have looked at Tweetdeck, but haven’t used it. I do have my blog set to auto post to both Twitter and Google+, but I do NOT like Facebook. I have considered making a Facebook Page for the blog, but I’m still debating.
      As for a reader, I did just yesterday set up with Feedly, but I totally spaced about Bloglovin. I may check them out – if I like it better, I may do that. I don’t like the way Feedly is set up either! 😀

Comments are closed.