Interview with a Dancer #16 – Lil Angels

I thought Lil had retired from dancing in SL.  Boy, was I glad to find out I was wrong!! I can’t wait to watch her light up the grid again. 🙂

Lil 2015

 

 

SL Name:  LilAngels
Display Name:  Lil
Rez Day: June 12, 2011

Location: USA

 

 

Questions:

What led you to/How did you start dancing in SL?
LA:  Way back in the day, on an older avi, I did the whole stripping thing.  The owner of the club took a bunch of us to a show – I think it was an early incarnation of Ellie’s.  We thought it looked like fun, and a couple weeks later, we were doing shows.  Back then, we had no idea of HUDs, so our screens were outlined with dances, and we manually clicked them, along with copy/pasting our emotes, hoping the whole time that we didn’t lag too bad to finish.

How long have you been dancing?
LA:  I don’t really count those earliest shows, we knew nothing.  This time around, 2-1/2 years.

Where do you dance?
LA:  Velvet Vixen is my home, but I’m excited to be a part of the new Le Artiste troupe managed by Yummy!  It’s a troupe made up entirely of Artiste HUD owners to showcase all of the neat tricks we’re able to conquer with it.  It’s very exciting to be a part of!

How much time, on average, do you spend in SL each week?
LA:  That depends, some much more than others.  Just depends on what all I’ve got going on.

Of that time, how much (%) is spent working on dances/performances?
LA:  Generally most of it.

How long does it take you to create a set (start to finish)?
LA:  Some are easier than others.  I can totally dive into a set and have it done in a day….or it can take up to a couple weeks or more.

Name your ‘go-to’ store for dance animations.
LA:  It depends on what I’m looking for.

Name your ‘go-to’ store for non-dance anims.
LA:  Generally Purple Poses for single, static poses, but for anything else, I look all over til I find it.

What dance HUD do you primarily use?  Why?
LA:   Right now, it’s mainly Spot On.  I like the ability to do multiple groups, all with their own timer – that was kind of a big selling point for me.  I did recently purchase the Artiste Performance Suite, so I’ll be tackling that next.

Do you use a movement system?  Which one?  Is there a reason you prefer one over the other?
LA:  I use Spot On for movement as well, but will be exploring the Artiste way.

Do you use other HUDs?  What are they?
LA: As I said earlier, starting to learn the Artiste HUD, and of course, I’ve used the Barre in the past as well.

Do you build your own sets or work with a scripter/builder?
LA:  I generally build most of my sets myself, but thankfully I’m blessed with some amazing builders as friends, and they’re willing to help pull me out when I think I’ve gotten myself in too deep.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever gotten about dancing?
LA:  DO NOT let SL glitches in your set get you down.  As long as you know how it looked on a perfect run-thru, and it made you dance in your seat, that’s all that matters.

Do you emote?  Why or why not?
LA: It depends.  (I’m answering so many of these questions with that!)  Sometimes, emoting does help tell your story, but at the same time, you don’t want emotes so long that your audience is only able to read your emotes and not actually watch your set.

Where do you find your music?
LA:  Everywhere

Do you make your own mixes?  If yes, where do you find music and/or sound effects?
LA: No, not that techy.  🙂

What is your stance on the issue of music copyright in SL (and also in YouTube videos you might post)?
LA:   I’m certainly not making anything from my shows.  It’s just a passion!

What are your preferences when it comes to dance performances?  – Large/small sets; particles/none; effects/none; faders/none; emotes/none; movers/none; lighting/none;
LA:  Once again I find myself answering with “it depends.” It’s all about the individual set – some need effects, some dont; some need emotes, some don’t.

What’s your favorite store for costuming?
LA: There are too many to name, I’ve found so many great designers for all types of sets.

What’s the most embarrassing or frustrating thing that has happened to you during a performance?
LA:  I think the shorter list would be what HASN’T happened to me during a show.  🙂

Do you ever consider how an audience member’s computer setup might affect their enjoyment of your performance?  (ie. – particles, effects, lag, etc.)
LA:  Yes and no.  for the first year, my computer was terrible all around – I lagged, had horrible graphics, but I pushed through.  Even though shows were a struggle, I knew what it looked like during my own practices.  After getting a really good computer that handles SL quite well, I tend to go for what looks good to me with my graphics maxed – just cause I can!

What’s the most helpful piece of advice you would give someone new to dancing in SL?
LA:  Do not let small obstacles deter you….there are so many people and resources out there that are willing to help you with anything.  All you gotta do is ask.

How long do you think a show should be in SL?  Is there an ‘optimum’ max length?
LA:  No more than 2 hours….and to last 2 hours, it better be a complete show where you want to stick around that long.  People get bored easily in SL.

Where is your favorite spot to spend time in SL if you are not dancing?
LA: You mean there’s time spent away from dancing?

The Velvet Vixen just had their first show of 2015, here’s looking forward to many more with the wonderful Lil.  😀

