Time Flies

Image Source: empower-u-academy.com
Image Source: empower-u-academy.com

Nai has recently started up a new blog/website for the Blue Moon (check it out here if you haven’t already).

He is also starting a ‘365’ project.

Each week, he will set a theme with prompts to inspire him to write, sketch, take a photo, whatever.

He’s invited others to participate as well, so I’m going to join in the fun. 🙂

The theme for this first week of January is TIME.

So my first offering is going to be this blog post.

Since it’s only the 4th day of January, and we’re fresh off the whole ‘Happy New Year’s’ thing, time is a subject that’s been on my mind.

Hubs’ birthday is coming up this week, mine is next month, and then I’m going to blink and my kids will be heading out into the real world.

Where did all the time go?

It seems like just yesterday my kids were little, needing help to brush their teeth, wanting me to kiss their boo-boos better.

When did they grow up?

In fact, I’m wondering where the first week of the New Year has gone – 2015 is flying by already!

Here’s hoping I have enough time to accomplish all the things I’d like to this year.  😀

17 thoughts on “Time Flies

  1. I hear you on time. My little infant is now a teenager and I don’t get how we got here so fast. It seems as I grow older time seems to accelerate. It used to take so long for a day to go by, now they fly by. I used to get bored when I was younger but I haven’t been bored in years. It seems to take a week to get done what I used to in a day. My friend calls it ‘the Quickening.’ I don’t know if it’s just my perspective or is time quickening for everyone.

    1. Nope, I feel the same way. I’m positive my days only have about 18 hours in them anymore. Or maybe it’s just that as we age, we feel the need to fit ever more into that shrinking pool of ‘time’?

  2. I think it’s a follow on from your brain taking in more information when you are younger. As you get older your brain remembers less, so an 18 year old remembers 12 hours of his day. A 40 year old may only remember 6 hours of the day. So the whole perception of time starts whooshing by.

    1. “As you get older your brain remembers less, so an 18 year old remembers 12 hours of his day. A 40 year old may only remember 6 hours of the day.”

      Not true. Your brain still records stuff, you may have difficulty recovering those memories if you have dementia or some other…. umm…. brain… thingy…. As you age you have more memories so accessing each memory may take more time as the library in your brain fills up. An 18 year old may have 5 books, a 40 year old may have 100 books so it takes them longer to search through and find the one paragraph they want but they may get distracted by one that catches their eye whilst searching therefore apparently forgetting what they were looking for in the first place.

      1. Plus, I am remembering stuff for other people. When I was a kid, I only had to worry about me. Now I have to remember things for my kids and my husband. 🙂

  3. Time flies when you are having fun. Does this mean we are having more fun as we age?

    I think i had more fun when I was younger. Recess and all that jazz.

    Oh, and the 4 times I had sex. Those were great. And one of those times was with another person…even better. Maybe the best time was when sex had me…that’s when I was born. It’s been downhill since then.

    1. On a more serious note, after a bit of googling,

      http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/mind-guest-blog/2013/12/18/why-does-time-fly-as-we-get-older/

      i tend to to agree with:
      “5. Stress, stress, and more stress.
      As concluded by Wittmann and Lehnhoff (and replicated by Friedman and Janssen), the feeling that there is not enough time to get things done may be reinterpreted as the feeling that time is passing too quickly.

      …and…

      1. We gauge time by memorable events.
      As William James hypothesized, we may be measuring past intervals of time by the number of events that can be recalled in that period.

      …and…
      4. As we age, we pay less attention to time

      …but i have my very own ‘new age’ theory…that when we die, time stops and everything that can and will happen, happens at once in one big instant. Time is a mental construct created for us earthlings to experience the feelings and lessons of ’cause and effect’, more easily grasped on a progressive linear-scale.

      As we nearer our time-to-die, time tends to shrink and move faster until so fast that at death…all things happen so fast that they all happen at the same time. I think its an easing in to this point. Not unlike those near death who pass in and out of conscious awareness, as we (some) are ‘eased’ into our post-reality environment.

      1. I don’t agree that “1. We gauge time by memorable events.”. If this were true then a week would last forever like it did for that holiday you had when you were young. Remember? The one where you spend days in the sunshine playing with your friends, no school, swimming, exploring, you even managed a two week family holiday and a few days just lazing about, yip that all fitted into a week.

        “4. As we age, we pay less attention to time” Nope, how many times so far have you heard “I can’t believe it’s 2015 already, where did 2014 go?” as you age you have more things to fit into your busy little life so are always watching the clock… have to pick up the kids at o’ clock… have to finish this project by …. I only have left to live.

        “5. Stress, stress, and more stress.” somewhat contradicts “4. As we age, we pay less attention to time”

        You forgot to mention “2. The amount of time passed relative to one’s age varies.
        For a 5-year-old, one year is 20% of their entire life. For a 50-year-old, however, one year is only 2% of their life.” Time is relative after all.

        1. I don’t think I ever fit a two-week holiday into a week, lol. As a kid, we only ever took one family vacation. But I just had to enjoy the trip. My parents were the ones who worried about where we were going, how we were getting there, how to pay for everything, etc.
          We are stressed and we are busy – far more than we need to be. I think sometimes we try to fit too much into a day.
          And time is relative – the time when I’m having fun seems to go much faster than time when I’m bored or having to do something I don’t like. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Time is up

Comments are closed.