I Took the Plunge #3

Image Source: www.pinterest.comNow that I have my new body, hands, and feet, I need clothes.

After all, you can’t walk around naked all the time.

Well, I suppose you could.

But I like wearing pretty dresses. 😀

The question is, can I make some of my current mesh wardrobe work with the new mesh body?

I sure hope so, because I own a LOT of mesh clothes.

I thought I had a lot of system outfits, but after searching, I realized that probably 65-75% of my wardrobe is now mesh.

I love a good sale, and a good hunt, and I’ve accumulated some decent mesh clothing because of it.

However, if you don’t yet own mesh clothing, not to worry.

A pretty little lingerie set is included with the Maitreya body.

Maitreya Body LingerieMaireya Lingerie Slink hands feetThe first shot is me wearing the Maitreya hands and feet.

The second one is me wearing the SLink hands and feet.

I think both look pretty good, even without the exact skin match.

The lingerie is pretty, and it keeps you from having to walk around naked. 🙂

But it also has lots of options.

It includes a HUD which lets you change the color of the lingerie and the bows.

Lingerie HUDUsing the HUD, you have a nice variety of choices.

The body also comes with 4 shapes.

I tried them, but I didn’t really care for any of them.

So for now I am keeping my own shape.

But I need to wear more than just lingerie.

Purple Moon recently had a huge Boxing Day Sale and I picked up a few items.

So I decided to try one of the dresses and see if I could make it work.

I just ‘added’ the dress to wear it.

This is what it looked like before I adjusted any of the alphas:

PM Dress No AlphasPM Dress No Alphas BackAs you can see, it isn’t a great fit right out of the box.

My legs are showing through and so is my derriere.

Not exactly the look I was going for.

So, I used the HUD to adjust the alphas for the body.

After making pieces of the legs and butt invisible, I thought it looked pretty good.

PM Dress with alphas frontPM Dress with alphas backNo derriere.

No thighs.

Woohoo!

I might actually be able to wear my new dress with my new bod!

The chest area looked pretty good from a distance, and of course, I wasn’t moving.

So I wondered if pieces or parts would show through close up or when I turned on my AO.

PM Dress Chest Close UpWhen I zoomed in closer, it looked like all my bits were covered properly.

At this point, I was feeling pretty stoked about purchasing the body.

Not only would I get to have some nice curves, I could still use pieces from my current wardrobe!

Of course, not everything will fit as easily as this dress.

However, it IS possible to make mesh items you already own work with the body.

But what about when you move around?

I turned on my AO to see what would happen.

PM Dress AO no alphasWhoops.

My beer belly is showing.

That can’t be good.

And I forgot to wear my shoes.

Must be all the beer.  🙂

But – an easy enough fix.

A few clicks to add a few alphas and . . .

PM Dress AO alphas frontPM Dress AO alphas chestTaa Daaa!!

Perfect fit. 🙂

And as you can see in the second picture, the chest area looks fine.

No bits or pieces poking through, even with my AO on.

If you notice some seams, I am wearing the SLink hands and feet in these pics.

I forgot to change them out for the Maitreya hands and feet.

PM Dress Ribbon AttachedI also was curious if I could use attachments as well.  The dress I have on had a ribbon that attaches to the front.

I ‘added’ it and bam!

At this point I noticed that I was still wearing the SLink hands.

So I changed them out for the Maitreya hands and feet.

Hubs really liked the way it all looked.

So I had to take an ‘artsy’ angled photo.

PM Dress Ribbon Maitreya HandsLook, Ma, no seams!

The hands really do look amazing.

And still no bits poking out, even in a weird angled pose.

Yay!

So, of course, I had to try another outfit.

To do a thorough review.

Because you’re all dying to know, right?

So I found a casual outfit and threw it on.

Casual Outfit no alphasFrom the front, and with no alphas, it looked pretty good.

(Still admiring the hands and feet.)

So I cammed around to see if there were any bits and pieces showing.

Sure enough, there were.

Not big pieces, but still ones that I’d want to fix.

Casual Oufit Side no alphasYou can see my shoulder breaking through the shirt.

And there’s a piece of my thigh breaking through the shorts.

You can’t tell in this angle, but pieces of inner thigh were breaking through in a couple of places as well.

Casual Outfit Shorts AlphasSo, I would need to click some alphas to make adjustments.

A few clicks and I was able to get rid of the thigh showing through.

The shoulder might be a bit trickier.

I tried one alpha cut to see how it worked.

Casual Outfit Shirt 1 alphaUnfortunately, not that great.

One alpha helped, but wasn’t quite enough to hide the shoulder.

So I added the next alpha cut.

 

Casual Outfit Shirt 2 alphasAck.

I got rid of the shoulder poking through, but now I’m missing part of my arm.

So, sadly, this cute t-shirt just doesn’t work with the body.

As I said, it may take some experimenting to see if items you already own will work.

There are three system layers shown at the bottom of the body HUD.

Now, I am new to clothing appliers (because I don’t own mesh boobs or a booty).

So I am still learning how they all work.

I didn’t think anything in my inventory would work as far as system clothing or tattoos without some kind of applier.

And since the Maitreya body is new, I didn’t think there would be many creators who included appliers for it with their clothing.

Hubs wasn’t understanding how the layers all worked, so I demonstrated for him by wearing a pair of system jeans.

Of course, they didn’t show, because the texture would appear on my system avatar, which is hidden by the mesh body alpha.

I don’t have many tattoos, so I didn’t even try those.

I did try a few pieces of lingerie with appliers for other systems, but couldn’t get them to work.

However, the Maitreya body comes with a lingerie outfit from Zaara included.

So I tried it. I wore the HUD.

I clicked the button for the bra and panty.

I then proceeded to do the happy dance. 😀

Omega Lingerie(Ignore the fact that part of my toes are buried in the floor, it’s unimportant.)

What is important is this adorable lingerie set.

There are also stockings and garter belt included in the lingerie set.

How cute is this?

There’s even an on/off button for the stockings to add the texture to your feet.

Easy and convenient.

I was so happy, I had to put on some of my favorite hair and see what it looked like.

Omega Lingerie AmarisHave I mentioned I love the curves of this body?

I am definitely going to have to head over to Zaara to check out the rest of their line.

I need to figure out how to use the Omega applier and see if it works with this body.

I’m still not sure how all of that works, but I am learning.

I love, love, love how this looks.

I can even overlook the mismatched skin tones.

I still look good!

I looked around see what else I could try.

I found one of hubs’ shirts laying on the floor (he’s kind of messy), so I put it on.

BF shirtThe shirt fit perfectly.

No alphas necessary.

I moved around and took a series of pics.

Woohoo!

I tried to think of any other questions or concerns I had about mesh bodies.

Doh!

One of the most important questions – how does it look when you dance?

Dance FrontDance BackPretty awesome, I’d say.

Nice curves.

No distortions that I saw.

Of course, I didn’t try every animation I own.

But for the few dances I tried, everything looked amazing.

Cute legs.

Nice tush.

While I had my dance HUD on, I tried a few poses.

I was looking for a sassy burlesque pose.

I found one, but was a little taken aback.

Here’s what the pose looks like using the system avatar:

System Avi DistortionHideous avatar feet aside, you can see the distortion in the pose here.

The left hip area is distorted, and you can see a bit of that pesky thigh smear.

So I was curious what this pose would look like with the Maitreya body.

I put it on and snapped a pic.

Not the result I was expecting.

Pose distortionYou can see in this pic that the hip area is even more distorted.

The feet look nicer, but the hip area actually looks worse with the mesh body than the system avatar.

Although this discovery was a tad disappointing, I am overall extremely pleased with the Maitreya body.

And knowing that I can make it work with mesh clothing I already own is a huge weight off my mind.

I could always just use my system avatar to wear some of the clothes, but after seeing the mesh body, I’m pretty sure it will become my ‘go-to’ look.

I still have more experimenting to do, and as I learn more, I will post that information.

If you join the Maitreya VIP group, they are currently giving away 3 pairs of shoes that work with the Maitreya feet, in colors that won’t be offered again.

I also want to try flexi-prim attachments and see how well they work.

As always, please feel free to comment and let me know if you found this information helpful. 😀

One last pic:

Gratuitous Shot

6 thoughts on “I Took the Plunge #3

  1. You can buy Blacklace lingerie which includes the Omega appliers. They always have a $99 special for Fridays which includes them. You have to buy the Omega applier hud as someone mentioned before for $99 or $1 if you are in that group. You wear it and also the omega applier of the lingerie at the same time. The Omega applier hud allows the lingerie hud to “talk” to the body and use the lingerie as appliers on the main maitreya body hud. This also works with tattoos which include the omega appliers and Letis tattoos are doing that now with their latest ones. The thing you have to remember is you can hide the lingerie or the tattoos or any clothing using the body appliers (when it finally appears) using the main body hud, but they are there on the body until you use another applier and change what you are “wearing” via appliers. LOL. I hope that makes sense to you.

    I find that in order to move in mesh clothing without flashing you have to click a lot of alphas on the body but it’s easy enough. In fact with the regular body and mesh clothing I find the same thing, you flash when you move and I often wear an ass add on which a friend made in PS for dancing in clubs. Perfection isn’t possible given the constraints of SL but I think this body is excellent so far.

    Today for FLF Glam Affair has two skins in their beautiful Amberly II skin on sale for $50, one a pale Asia and the other the India tone which Strawberry Singh always wears if she has on a Glam Affair skin. Both are included for $50. You don’t need the GA slink appliers if you are wearing the maitreya hands and feet.

    1. Woohoo!! Thanks for the heads up – I was looking at the Amberly in India, so I will be heading over to GA asap!!!
      I did go ahead and pick up the GA SLink appliers, because I might want to wear the GA skins with my system avatar for performances. 🙂
      And I agree, sometimes clicking all the alpha cuts is a pain, since you have to do it with every outfit (you could copy the HUD with your outfit, I suppose), as opposed to just wearing one alpha layer. But you look sooo good with the body!!!

  2. I’m curious about the appliers you’re using for the lingerie here Kat, in the pic it appears you are wearing the underwear layer for upper and lower body and you mention that they also have a garter belt and stockings, are these using the clothes layer or are they combined with the bra and panties on a different applier for underwear? I was playing about with my own designs and naturally put stockings on socks layer but this appears to only cover the feet themselves and it looks like it has to go on another layer for the legs. I’m curious to how this works.

  3. There is a separate HUD for the lingerie, and you use that HUD to pick which pieces of the lingerie you would like displayed. (Link to image of the HUD: http://i0.wp.com/3.bp.blogspot.com/-bT1Y3K8gKAA/VJtDduGfAfI/AAAAAAAADr0/bFli5dxxQkA/s1600/Zaara%2BLingerie%2BHud.png).
    You can display all the pieces separately or all at once, depending on which option you choose, as well as the on/off buttons for the socks/stockings.
    Honestly, I’m not really sure how all the appliers work, as I’ve not had time to play with them much.

    1. i also took the plunge and got the Maitreya body and I noticed a few things with the actual body and the appliers. There’s a visible gap at the join at the wrists when using the supplied hands, it’s small but it’s there. when using the appliers for the clothing, if you choose to have the stockings on the clothing layer your stockings will appear not to quite fit at the ankle join to the foot (the clothing layer is deliberately designed to be looser to reflect the looser fit of most outer clothes). I know these are small imperfections but I like things just right. Also, the applied textures take forever to rez, I mean forever, until I cam in really close, til I’m almost touching it, then it rezzes.

      1. I can’t see any gaps, although I did read another blog yesterday that showed pictures of visible seams on the hands and feet. I haven’t had a chance to play with the appliers yet, so I haven’t seen any issues with the stockings layer. As far as rezzing, I haven’t noticed any issues with the textures, other than when I log in, the lingerie seemed blurry. As soon as I touched the body, they became clear.
        I’m not really clear on how all the appliers work for the tattoo/clothing layers. The biggest complaint I’ve seen so far for the Maitreya is the lack of appliers for various skins.

Comments are closed.