Picture Experiment

Image Source:   www.ms-ds.com
Image Source: http://www.ms-ds.com

A few months ago, I signed up for a subscription for SL Go by OnLive.  My computer is okay, but not top-of-the-line, so I thought I’d try out SL Go and see how it works.

It’s supposed to turn any tablet or PC into a machine capable of running SL at Ultra settings.  So you can have all the fancy shadows and lighting to take pretty pictures and have less lag, even at Ultra.

I haven’t really used SL Go much, although my husband has played around with it on his iPad.  He had a little trouble getting used to the controls (it took him a good 5 minutes to ‘sit’ on something the other day).

Then I saw a video by Iris over at New World Notes about taking fancy-schmancy pictures using SL Go.  So I thought I’d try it myself.

I’ve been debating for several months whether to get a Flickr account, and hadn’t yet.  Partly because I detest Yahoo and I have to sign up for an account with them in order to use Flickr.  But also partly because I didn’t think I could take pictures that would be able to compete with what I see on Flickr.

I don’t run SL on Ultra on my computer, and I rarely have shadows enabled, because it causes too much lag.

However, to take some pictures, like landscapes or portraits, maybe I could make it work.

If I can take awesome pictures with SL Go, even better!

So I decided to do a little experiment.

I logged in to SL with my computer and went to two different winter sims to take some photos.  I didn’t bump up my graphics to Ultra, but I did turn on shadows.  I found a quiet spot on each sim and spent a few minutes playing around with the windlight presets to get something I thought was pretty.

Then, I logged into SL Go and went to the same two sims to take photos at the same spots.

SL Go does take some getting used to – I use the Firestorm viewer, and SL Go is a scaled-down version of the official LL viewer.  So it took me a little bit to get used to where all the controls were.

(Side note – I use the FS built-in AO, so since I don’t wear an AO attachment, I was doing the newbie dork-walk everywhere I went.  Ugh.)

I also had a bit of trouble, because I couldn’t find all the snapshot options to play with, like I have in FS.

There were only about 10 total different windlight presets to choose from using SL Go, so then I had to figure out how to adjust the settings myself, to try and get as close as possible to the windlights I had used with FS.

(I spent about an hour trying to figure out how to turn on the ‘advanced menu’ in SL Go, only to be told later that I couldn’t, because it uses a scaled down version of the viewer.)

So after finally getting the pictures taken with SL Go, I needed to resize them.  I am going to post them below, and I would love your feedback on which ones you think are better.  Just click on the poll underneath each set of photos to vote on which one you like.

For the first set of photos, my windlight settings are not close.  For both sets, the angles are a bit different.  In retrospect, I probably should have had the first set of photos open to use as reference, but I wasn’t thinking that far ahead.  I was just trying to duck-walk to the site as quickly as possible.  😀

After I get the results, I will post additional information about the original photos.  All I have to done these photos is to resize them down to 1024X576 or 1024X548.  I did not do any other post-processing of them.

Winter Wonderland:

KellanWinter
Photo 1 A

 

Photo 2 A
Photo 2 A

 

 

 

 

Frisland:

Photo 2 A
Photo 1 B
Photo 2 B
Photo 2 B

Please vote and send the link to your friends and ask them to weigh in as well.

I’m curious to see which photos people like better!

(Just FYI – you find some weird shizz when you do a search on Google for ‘photo experiment.’ 😛 )

4 thoughts on “Picture Experiment

    1. I just went into preferences. You have to turn on ALM, and then there’s a box underneath to turn on shadows and/or projectors.
      I selected sun/moon from the drop down menu and got shadows. 🙂 It does make me laggy, but if I’m just taking a photo, it’s not horrible.
      I can’t do it at dance shows, too many people, but for landscapes and portraits, it’s workable.

  1. I rarely enable shadows but have always used Ultra. So I decided to try enabling them on High instead. It seemed to allow me to check all the boxes, so off I went to take some photos. I took about 10 but when I looked at them, two were completely white and the others were totally black! So much for that experiment!

    I have a very high end retina MacBook pro, less than a year old, with a great graphics card but on reading around I saw that some graphics cards will not work with shadows unless on ultra. Obviously mine is one of those.

    I use Firestorm for SL but my mac and FS really don’t get along and I have to run graphics at mid most of the time. Even then I freeze at laggy places very often and have to relog. I don’t have near the issues on Singularity but miss too many of FS’s features to use it regularly.

    JMB Balogh

    1. I wish I could run on Ultra, but even with an upgraded graphics card, it doesn’t happen. I freeze every 5 mins.
      But yes, I love all the options I get with FS. I haven’t tried Singularity or any of the other TPV’s for quite some time.
      My secret wish is for Santa to bring me a new computer!!

Comments are closed.