News, News, and More News!

1.21 gigawatts?!
1.21 gigawatts?!

Things seem to be moving at light speed lately.

As my grandpa would have said, “I’m busier than a one-legged man in a butt-kicking contest!”

The holiday season is upon us, and that means tons of new events and happenings, both RL and SL.

With the advent of the holidays, many stores around SL will be having Advent Calendars with daily goodies (see what I did there?).  One of those is Abranimations – there is a spot with a daily gift each day.  Some of it is kind of quirky (I don’t think I’ve ever used my penguin avatar), but sometimes I get lucky and the prize is a dance animation. 🙂  So be sure to check them out during December.  There is also a daily dance offered at a discount (a steal at L$45 per animation).

Yummy’s Artiste HUD (which I am still trying to learn) seems to be taking off as well.  She now has a website for owners of the HUD, to be used a repository of knowledge.  It should be interesting! I’m excited to see what others create with it, given the huge amount of options it provides.  The learning curve is steeper than other products, but from what I’ve seen so far, well worth the effort.

MadPea’s Blood Letters Hunt is now over, and December 1st starts their ‘Scrumptious Sweets’ hunt.  It should be a nice change from all the blood and gore of the Blood Letters hunt (which I enjoyed immensely) and the HUD for the Sweets hunt is only $100L.

What's this stargate doing here?
What’s this stargate doing here?

I finally had a chance to make it to the Geeks & Nerds Fair – as a lifelong geek/nerd myself, I loved it.  So much to see!  🙂

I couldn’t resist the picture collage of Sheldon sayings (I told you I was a nerd!).  There was a store named Buttery Toast.  Not sure what they sell, but I love the name!  I also just had to have the SLink fingernail appliers that were the StarWars characters.  So cute!

In a strange twist, I found a ton of items I would love to give my geeky family and friends in RL.  So now I have to see if I can locate some of these nerdy items on Amazon.  Although I will say I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many Police Boxes in one place before.  (I spent so much I had to replenish my supply of L$ – shhh, don’t tell my hubby!)

While I was there, I was reminded of something I often think about when attending large events like the fair.  Store owners/creators/vendors – please, please, please include a subscribo in your booth if you can!  I see a TON of cool shops and things, but I will never remember all of them.  If you have a subscribo, I can hit it, and bam! I’m updated on your goings-on and such.  I would love to join everyone’s group, but alas, there is that stinky 42 group limit.

Which brings me to another idea, if someone knows how to get the attention of the powers-that-be.  LL asked not too long ago what people wanted for the holidays.  Now, I’m sure they were thinking along the lines of a giftie, which is fine.  BUT.  Sam, the owner of the Starlite theater, had a GENIUS idea.  (I have no idea whether it would actually even be possible, but if it was, it would warm the cockles of even the Grinch’s cold heart!)  People already pay for a premium membership.  But what if another option for premium members (or anyone, really), was to pay an extra say $5 a month, for the ability to have an additional, say, 20 groups?  Would you pay it?  I would.  Something to think about! 😛

And just because I was in a silly mood at the fair (gettin’ my geek on), here’s a little bonus shot of me shooting down all those pesky aliens!

Pew! Pew!  Take that, you slimy bug-eyed aliens!
Pew! Pew! Take that, you slimy bug-eyed aliens!

 

 

 

