Wishing and Hoping

Image Source:  nevergrowingold.blogspot.com
Image Source: nevergrowingold.blogspot.com

It seems I have a never-ending wish list when it comes to SL.  Things on that list include:

  • a bottomless L$ well
  • the ability to make my own mesh
  • more animations (dance, pose, whatever)
  • the ability to move things around (for example, make stuff explode, or throw it, or toss it out to an audience member (and have them actually be able to catch it))
  • dance with props that interact with my avatar, not just attach to a point (like a boa or whip)
  • hair/clothing that moves (like flexi) but doesn’t go ‘through’ my avatar (like mesh)
  • the ability to script
  • better hardware so I can take awesome photos like all the cool kids
  • become a photoshop, blender, and LSL expert

You know, all the little things. 🙂

We all have different wishes and hopes when it comes to virtual worlds.  Sometimes, we’re disappointed.

I use the Firestorm viewer and came across a blog post from Jessica Lyon about Firestorm’s upcoming release.  I’ve been reading with interest all the chatter about the various improvements LL has been making, including CDN, HTTP, and Group Ban.  (If you’re not familiar with all these issues, follow Inara Pey’s blog: Living in a Modem World.  She’s terrific at explaining techie stuff so that even a tech-challenged person like me can understand it all.)

So, I was disappointed to find out that some of the things I was hoping would improve my SL experience may not be included in the latest release.  *Sighs*

However, I do certainly appreciate the hard work that all the Firestorm volunteers put into making the viewer.  So, while it may not (yet) have all the bells and whistles I was hoping for, I am happy to hear that the focus is on providing a stable viewer for those of us who choose to use Firestorm. 🙂

In the meantime, I’m still wishing and hoping. 😛

 

 

