An Alternative to Facebook?

Ello's Logo
Ello’s Logo

I’ve written before about my dislike for Facebook.  Looking for alternatives, both for my RL and SL, has been . . . interesting.

I found ASN (Avatar Social Network) and so far, I like it.  I’m not as active as I’d like to be, but that’s my fault, not the platform.  For SL purposes, it’s a good alternative to Facebook.  Then I heard about Ello.  I wanted to try it (both RL and for SL).  But now I’m not sure if I want to or not.  I haven’t gotten an invite yet, so my feelings may change once I do.

Today I stumbled across this post on Google+:    Ello, goodbye by Aral Balkan

I read in another article yesterday that Ello has received funding from venture capitalists.  Why is this important?  Because it means that, at some point, those who provided the capital are going to want a return on their investment.  Where are they going to get it?  From you.  Which means that you are once again in danger of being a ‘commodity’ to a social media platform.

While I was initially excited to hear about Ello, now .  . . not so much.

At this point, I wouldn’t even mind paying a fee to use a network, if it meant I could be sure (as sure as you can be in this day and age) that my personal information isn’t being sold to some ‘corporation.’  Is it too much to ask that my posts be seen by my friends/followers (people who are, presumably, interested in my posts) without me having to pay to ‘promote’ my posts?  Is it too much to ask that I not be deluged with ads for products that some ‘algorithm’ thinks I might be interested in? (Just FYI, Mr. Al Gorithm, I’m NOT interested, tyvm.)

Think how much time you’d save if the stuff you saw on your feed was only the stuff you’d actually SAID you were interested in!

Is that so much to ask?

2 thoughts on “An Alternative to Facebook?

  1. Kat, I’ll be happy to send you an invitation to Ello, if you’d like to check it out (email me, jennspoint@gmail.com) It’s definitely still in beta, but I think it has potential. The company plans to eventually offer premium features to fund it’s operations and repay investors. I’m going to hang around awhile to see what happens. 🙂

Comments are closed.