Social Media Overload

What does this have to do with overload?  Nothing, but chocolate makes everything better, right?! Photo credit: lovethispic.com
What does this have to do with social media? Nothing, but chocolate makes everything better, right?!
Photo credit: lovethispic.com

I’m having another one of those days where there just isn’t enough time to get everything done that I want to.  Oh, sure, I could have gotten up earlier, but sleeping in on a Saturday is mandatory, right?  (If it isn’t, it should be!)

The weekends are usually pretty carefree, but today seemed to fly by.  I blinked, the day is over, and I didn’t even finish my blog post!  I had to 1) read all the other SL blogs I keep up with, 2) check ASN to see what’s going on there (ASN is my replacement for Facebook), 3) check all my emails, 4) check my Google+, 5) check my Twitter (I can’t keep up with Twitter – I check only once or twice a day, or I’d be there all day reading!), and 6) wait impatiently for my invite from Ello (another new social media network).

This is why I don’t have a Tumblr or a Flickr or a Plurk or Pinterest or a ‘insert other social media platform here.’

It’s exhausting to try and stay current in this digital world.  So much data is generated on a daily basis that it is becoming impossible (I feel) to stay informed/updated.  So what to do?

I’ve tried to manage my own workload by picking and choosing what social media platforms I use and how I use them.  I have a Twitter, but I’m better at longer posts.  140 characters just isn’t enough for me.  However, I spend a lot of time laughing over hilarious tweets from others.  So, since Twitter is more for ‘reach’ with the blog, I don’t spend a lot of time on it.

ASN is new (my choice of replacement for Facebook, unless/until I find out if Ello is better), so I’ve been spending some time on it, especially since it is specifically made for avatars in virtual worlds.  Email is essential, of course, so that gets checked, but usually only once daily.  I get so many notices sent from SL to my email that some days it feels like I spend more time deleting than reading.  :/

But someone has to cull through all the data and find the gems, right?

So, today I learned that:

1) Apparently there is a 100 avatar prim counting limit in Second Life (that means if more than 100 people rez something in a region, prim count scripts stop working and just ignore the 101st person and everyone above that).  This is important if you are in charge of prim counts in a region.  I’ll probably never need to know this, but I learned it anyway.  🙂

2) A new library called The Chamber Library opened in SL this weekend.  As a literature buff, it sounds like a cool place to visit.  It’s on my to-do list.  (Although I’m not sure I’m up for reading Shakespeare from a NC – I doubt my eyes could take the strain.)

3) I don’t spend nearly enough time in SL exploring.  There’s all kinds of cool sims that other people post photos of that I would love to visit.  I just don’t.  I’m not sure why.  Hmmm . . .

4) Blender is a free program.  Huh.  Who knew?  (Apparently everyone but me.  -.-)

5) And last but not least, Tuty’s has released a new AO called ‘Woman in Tango.’ (I had to find something dance-related!)

So there you have it – the gems I mined from today’s deluge of information.

You’re welcome.  😀

