Catch Up Tuesday

It’s Tuesday and I finally have a few moments to sit down, breathe, and blog!  It’s been a whirlwind weekend, and I missed tons of stuff, so I’ll be spending part of today catching up on everything.

I was so busy yesterday I didn’t even get a chance to check out the 21Shoe event.  *pouts*  Ah, well, I’m sure my bank account will thank me later. 🙂

The Pose Fair opened this weekend, so I’m hoping to find the time to make it there to check out some new (to me) pose makers.  I’m always on the lookout for a cute pose that I can use in one of my dances.

I was interested to see that plans are underway for SL’s 11th Birthday (check out the blog here).  I read somewhere else that LL may or may not be involved.  Huh?  LL may not be involved in a celebration of their own virtual world?  *smh*

There was a recent blog post from SL Blogger Support about crediting poses you use in your SL pics.  Photography in SL is something I’d like to learn more about, and I certainly agree that poses (and their makers) should be credited.  I’ve also been on the hunt for a good pose stand.  I have tons of poses and it can get tedious to run sort through them when I’m trying to find one to use in a dance.  Is there an easier way to do that than loading them all into a HUD or pose stand?

I see a TON of posts on my feed for hunts and gatchas and fairs.  I finally had to stop reading them all, because my inventory was getting ridiculous.  However, I still have lots of gatcha items that I don’t need and won’t ever use.  How do I go about getting rid of them?  I know there are yard sales (?) but I don’t really understand how they work.  I just saw a post about a new gatcha service – kind of like ebay for gatcha items.  And like ebay, they take a % of the profits.  Honestly, I don’t even really need to profit, I’d just like to see some of the items go to people who would actually use them.  Any ideas on how I could go about that?  Just head to noob island and hand them out?

Does anyone in SL think about copyright laws?  I get lots of TOS notecards when I buy textures or clothing or whatever.  But it seems kind of hypocritical to give me a notecard that says you’ll pursue a DCMA violation if I misuse your Batman/Spiderman/Tinkerbell costume.  Did YOU get permission from DC or Marvel or Disney????  Hmmmm . . . .

I’ve been reading about other virtual worlds and wondering whether it’s worth the time to check them out.  I had an IMVU account long ago, but I found it to be a pale version of SL.  What about InWorldz?  Is there another world worth exploring?

I really don’t like Facebook.  At all.  So I found this article interesting:  A Million Little Facebook Pieces

RP is everywhere in SL.  But I have yet to find a place that doesn’t seem intimidating.  I’ve been to several sims where I can just wander around as an OOC viewer, but it feels like I am intruding on other’s RP.  Other places, you just get plunked in the middle of everything and have to figure out what’s going on.  I don’t want to ruin someone else’s RP because I have no idea what the storyline is.

I started in SL about 5 years ago.  When I stop to look back on all the changes, it is pretty amazing.  Find someone new and introduce them to SL.  Or better, find someone who used to be in SL and convince them to try it again.  Sometimes seeing things through new eyes can change the way you think about things.

With all questions surrounding Bitcoin, I’m interested to see if/when the IRS decides to consider L$ taxable.  I don’t personally make any money in SL – my taxes are complicated enough as it is!

Annnnd – there you have it, my catch-up Tuesday!

